Nominations for 2017 AIM Industry Awards Sought; Recognize a Leader in Automatic Identification Today

Pittsburgh, PA, November 18, 2016 --( AIM, the trusted worldwide industry association for the automatic identification industry, providing unbiased information, educational resources and standards to providers and users of these technologies for nearly half a century, has announced the opening of the nomination period for its annual automatic identification and data capture industry awards.

Each year, the AIM Awards honor individuals as well as organizations that not only promote the industry, but demonstrate significant contributions to enhanced and new technologies.

Nominations for the AIM 2017 Awards are being sought to recognize outstanding achievement in five specific categories. Open to both AIM members and non-members alike, the 2017 recipients, chosen by AIM’s global Board of Directors, will be honored at a special presentation during AIM Summit 2017 on March 13, 2017 in Stuttgart, Germany.

Established in 1984, the Dilling Award is the highest award given in the Automatic Identification and Data Capture (AIDC) industry. It is presented to executives, scientists, and engineers in recognition of outstanding contributions that have furthered the growth of the industry through important applications and new technological developments.

The Percival Award was established in 1982 to honor Don Percival, an early founder and pioneer in the development of barcode scanning. The Award, co-sponsored by SCAN-Data Capture Report and AIM, is presented annually to an individual or organization from the user community recognizing outstanding contributions to the application of automatic identification and data capture technologies.

Named in honor of Ted Williams, an industry innovator, collaborator, and long-time member of the AIM Technical Symbology Committee, the Williams Award is presented each year to a professor or student in recognition of innovative and exceptional contributions that can further the growth of the automatic identification and mobility industry through their work as a teacher, researcher, or entrepreneur.

The Gilligan Award was established in 2012 to honor a revolutionary developer of supply chain standards across multiple industries. This award, co-sponsored by AIM and the Material Handling Institute (MHI), is given to a member of the industry that has made outstanding contributions to the development of automatic identification and data communications (AIDC) applications in materials handling and logistics in the supply chain.

Named in 2012 to honor life-long industry contributor and expert Bert Moore, the Moore Excellence in Journalism Award recognizes a member of the media whose unbiased communications contribute to a greater understanding of the automatic identification and mobility industry as a whole.

The deadline for 2017 award nominations is December 30, 2016. Online nomination forms can be accessed by visiting the AIM website ( For detailed award criteria information, visit AIM Industry Awards (

All awards will be presented during a special ceremony set to take place during AIM Summit 2017 on March 13, 2017 at the Le Méridien Stuttgart Hotel in Stuttgart, Germany. For more information about the AIM Summit, contact AIM headquarters at +1.724.742.4470 or visit AIM Summit 2017 online.
AIM, Inc.
C. K. Troup