NLAPW Announce 2010-12 Officers

The National League of American Pen Women (NLAPW) announced newly elected officers for the 2010-12 terms.

Washington, DC, May 28, 2010 --( As president and owner of two Florida corporations, Holmes Physical Therapy and Abbey by the Sea Framers, Jean E. Holmes has more than 40 years of business management experience. Specific to the arts, her photography and graphic designs have received regional and national awards. A letters and arts NLAPW member, Holmes held multiple League positions in her Boca Raton Florida Branch, served as President for the Florida State Association and held numerous positions on the national Board which is based in Washington, DC. As the newly elected national President, she challenges League membership to through outreach projects offer our nation’s children the opportunity to discover the joys of creating. To learn more about Holmes focus, link to option President’s message, .

Other elected positions are First VP Sharyn Bowman Greberman of Silver Spring MD, Second VP Treanor Wooten Baring of Houston TX, Third VP Catherine A. Witek of Milton WI, Fourth VP Rev. Christina Laurie of Falmouth MA, Fifth VP Candace Long of Roswell GA, Recording Secretary Meletha Everett of Brandon FL, Corresponding Secretary Barbara C. Thompson of Rhinebeck NY, Treasurer Lorna Jean Hagstrom of DeLand FL, Librarian Maureen Stack Sappey of Chestertown MD and Historian Sandra Seaton Michel of Wilmington DE.

History of NLAPW

The National League of American Pen Women, founded in 1897, is a recipient of the Literary Hall of Fame Award in recognition of its contribution to the cultural life of the United States and the George Washington Honor Medal sponsored by the Freedoms Foundation at Valley Forge for its collaborative effort to promote an understanding and appreciation of America’s rich heritage and unique freedoms.

The League’s mission is to encourage, recognize and promote the production of creative work of professional standard in Art, Letters and Music and through outreach activities provide educational, creative and professional support to members and non-members in these disciplines. Presently membership consists of more than 100 branches located throughout the United States. In addition to Branch membership, the League offers student, member-at-large and International affiliate (non-citizen) memberships and encourages the formation of State Associations.

Membership, comprised of three comprehensive classifications: Letters, Art and Music, offers association with other creative professional women through participation in workshops, discussion groups and lectures related to the creative process. Writing and poetry contests, art exhibitions (both juried and judged), and music composition competitions are conducted at local branch, state and national levels of the organization. See for details of events, contests or membership; or for further details of League history, link to option history -

As the NLAPW spokesperson, President Holmes is available to provide speeches and lectures for professional organizations. For details of her availability, contact the National Headquarters at Pen Arts Building, 1300 Seventeenth St., N.W., Washington, D.C. 20036-1973 or call 202-785-1997 or email

National League of
American Pen Women,
Linking Creative
Women Since 1897

2010-12 NLAPW President -
Jean E. Holmes

National League of American Pen Women
Sylvia Hoehns Wright