The National Pollution Prevention Roundtable Announces: the 2011 MVP2 Award Winners

Washington, DC, September 22, 2011 --( The 2011 Most Valuable Pollution Prevention (MVP2) awards presented by the National Pollution Prevention Roundtable (NPPR) celebrates the successes of innovations in the areas of pollution prevention and sustainability. The MVP2 awards are presented annually during National Pollution Prevention Week. National Pollution Prevention week is the third week of September, September 19th – 25th, 2011. Since Pollution Prevention Week became a national event in 1995, NPPR has been advancing pollution prevention awareness through its efforts to encourage and promote widespread participation during this week. The theme for this year’s National Pollution Prevention Week is “Pollution Prevention a Cornerstone of Sustainability.”

The 2011 MVP2 recipients represent a broad range of backgrounds, including academia, industry, state government, non-profit and individuals that have demonstrated significant accomplishments in pollution prevention. These prestigious awards were presented at a ceremony today in Washington, DC.

Awards were presented in four categories. This year’s winners for Projects/Programs were SABIC Innovative Plastics, IBM Fishkill, IBM Burlington, Kentucky Pollution Prevention Center (KPPC), and Cintas Incorporated. The Multimedia Award was presented to the Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality for their “P2 Interactive Toolbox” and their “P2 Public Service Announcement.” P2RIC also received a multimedia award for their collaborative booklet, “Easy Energy and Materials Savings.” Warren Weaver and Cam Metcalf were presented with the awards for P2 Champion. Weaver has worked for PennTAP in the pollution prevention and environmental sustainability arena for 17 plus years. Cam Metcalf, executive director of KPPC, has had a career focused on pollution prevention and energy efficiency technical assistance, training and applied research that spans nearly 30 years. Volunteer of the Year was awarded to Gary Hunt who recently retired from the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources.

Jeffrey Burke, Executive Director of NPPR, stated, “These organizations have clearly demonstrated that pollution prevention is beneficial to both the environment and the economy. They are being recognized for their leadership and commitment to promoting a sustainable future.” The MVP2 awards demonstrate how organizations can become more competitive, form partnerships, realize cost savings, and enhance environmental quality all at the same time.

For more information on the 2011 MVP2 winners, the awards, and NPPR go to

Contact Information:
Jeffrey J. Burke, Executive Director
National Pollution Prevention Roundtable
50 F Street, NW; Suite 350
Washington, DC 20001
Ph: (202) 299-9701

National Pollution Prevention Roundtable
Angela Miller