Metro South Association of REALTORS® Rallied for Homeownership at the Georgia Capitol

Local REALTORS® were among 800 participating in event.

Atlanta, GA, February 04, 2013 --( On Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2013, several REALTORS® from Clayton & Henry Counties were among hundreds who participated in the Georgia REALTORS® (GAR) Rally for Homeownership on the front steps of the Georgia Capitol Building. “We had a larger crowd than we originally expected, and the energy was amazing. It was inspiring to be a part of an event that promotes an issue that is so vital to the economy at every level,” said President Metro South Association of REALTORS®, Brianne Drake.

Governor Nathan Deal addressed the crowd, expressing his appreciation for REALTORS® and their dedication to preserving homeownership in Georgia, despite the challenges of the recent economy. Other elected officials who spoke to the REALTORS® included David Shafer, Senate President Pro Tempore; Stacey Abrams, House Minority Leader; Rep. Roger Bruce of Atlanta; Rep. Virgil Flood of Tyrone; and Rep. Micah Gravely of Douglasville.

GAR’s 2013 President, Robin Lance of Savannah, conveyed the unity among the REALTORS® as she addressed the crowd at the podium. “We join together today not as Republicans, Democrats, or Independents, but as REALTORS® representing 2.2 million homeowners in Georgia. This group is completely dedicated to solving the housing crises in our state together.”

Local REALTORS® who participated in the GAR Rally for Homeownership include (Brianne Drake, Christy Slaton, Sandra McCrary, Oliver Adams, Ana Blackburn, Greg Nobles, Judge Parker, Clint Crowe, Earlene Gardner, David Barton, Sally Knight, Barbara Dyer, Karen Linnear, Sharilyn Hamm, Jim Defee, Jeffrey Blackburn, Melissa Danielson, Linda Bridges, Rhonda Ross, Brenda Seymore, Tarji Leonard-Dunn, Vincent Williams, Barbara Rhyne, Lisa Cunningham, Tammy Noll, Karen Devonshire, Jim Dorminy, Marcia Clemendor, Michelle Griffin, Carla Haight, Richard Haight, Raquel Lavendar, Pamela Miller). After the Rally was over, REALTORS® entered the Capitol and met with their local legislators to discuss important issues related to homeownership and private property rights. Among the elected officials were Senator Emanuel Jones, Senator Valencia Seay, State Representative Ronnie Mabra, State Representative Valencia Stovall, State Representative Mike Glanton, State Representative Demetrius Douglas, State Representative Dale Rutledge, State Representative Andrew Welch, and State Representative Brian Strickland.

Metro South Association of REALTORS® (also referred to as “MSAR”) is a voluntary professional association of approximately 800 licensed REALTOR® members engaged in all aspects of the real estate business. Although our membership is comprised primarily of agents from Clayton and Henry Counties in GA, we also have members from other areas of the state. The Metro South Association of REALTORS® advocates, protects and enhances REALTOR® interests; promotes professionalism and integrity; upholds the REALTOR® Code of Ethics; and safeguards equal housing opportunity and private property rights.

The Georgia Association of REALTORS® (also referred to as “Georgia REALTORS®”) is a voluntary professional association of approximately 26,000 licensed real estate brokers and salespersons engaged in all aspects of the real estate business throughout Georgia. GAR is the leading advocate for the real estate industry in Georgia, committed to protecting private property rights and free enterprise, maintaining ethical and professional standards, and enhancing the public’s awareness and confidence in REALTORS®.
Metro South Association of REALTORS®
Brianne Drake