Business Directory, Press Releases, Jobs, Products, Services, Articles
Businesses Articles Press Releases Follow @PRcom
Press Release Pricing | News by Category | News by Country | News by US Region | Recent News | News on Your Site

Press Releases


Press Release

Receive press releases from FieldTurf: By Email RSS Feeds:

Fieldturf Announces 2013 NCAA Lacrosse Awards

Montreal, Canada, January 11, 2014 --( FieldTurf announced the winners of the 8th annual FieldTurf Lacrosse Awards for 2013 today. Award-winners were named in seven categories, including six college coach of the year winners and one team of the year winner.
This year’s winners are:

NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Men’s Lacrosse) – John Desko, Syracuse University

NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Women’s Lacrosse) – Jenny Levy, University of North Carolina

NCAA Division 2 Coach of the Year (Men’s Lacrosse) – Chris Ryan, Mercyhurst College

NCAA Division 2 Coach of the Year (Women’s Lacrosse) – Meghan McNamara, LIU Post

NCAA Division 3 Coach of he Year (Men’s Lacrosse) – Paul Cantabene, Stevenson University

NCAA Division 3 Coach of the Year (Women’s Lacrosse) – Jim Nestor, Salisbury University

NCAA Team of the Year – Syracuse University (Men’s)

John Desko (Syracuse University): A legend in the annals of college lacrosse, Desko’s team faced its lowest preseason ranking in15 years. The team managed to beat the odds and make it to the championship game and have yet another incredible year.

Jenny Levy (University of North Carolina): Under Levy’s leadership, Carolina ended the season at 18-3, a team record for wins in a season. The Tar Heels scored in the third sudden-death overtime period for a 13-12 win over top-seeded Maryland in the NCAA women’s lacrosse championship. The win gave UNC its first NCAA title in women’s lacrosse in the team’s second title-game appearance.

Chris Ryan (Mercyhurst College): Coach Ryan, one of the most decorated coaches in DII Lacrosse led his squad to a near thrilling undefeated season in the Championship game, losing a heartbreaker to Lemoyne after a significant comeback effort fell just short.

Meghan McNamara (LIU Post): The LIU Post Pioneers Women's Lacrosse notched their fourth national championship with a 10-7 win over the Limestone Saints in the Division II NCAA finals. The win, which capped a perfect 20-0 season, gave the Pioneers back-to-back national championships under head coach Meghan McNamara.

Paul Cantabene (Stevenson University): Cantabene, Stevenson’s winningest coach in both wins and percentage, led his team to the school’s first NCAA Division III Championship. En route to the National Championship, Stevenson won a school record 22 games and went a perfect 8-0 in their first season in the Commonwealth Conference.

Jim Nestor (Salisbury University): Coach Nestor led the Sea Gulls to a program-best 23 wins and a perfect season in 2013, taking the program to its second national championship. Nestor was also selected by his CAC peers as the league's Coach of the Year for the ninth time in his 12 years as Salisbury's head coach.

Syracuse University (Men’s): Syracuse tied the team record for wins last season, going 16-4 and advancing to the NCAA title game for the 17th time in program history. Despite a loss to Duke in the final, Syracuse had yet another fantastic year and has been touted as the favorites to win the ACC by coaches in a preseason poll.

About the FieldTurf Award Series

The FieldTurf Coach of the Year Awards recognize a coach’s dedication and hard work both on and off the field. The coaches that have been and will be selected for this award all exemplify outstanding leadership skills and enjoy well-deserved success. Special attention is given to coaches who are able to significantly improve their team’s effort, performance, and overall record from previous years along with coaches who enjoy success with young and inexperienced teams.

The FieldTurf Team of the Year Awards acknowledge teams at all levels of sport that show a passion for the game along with dedication to team play. The teams that will be selected for this award will be teams that have enjoyed success and/or made considerable improvements from previous years within their respective leagues.
Contact Information
Jason Smollett

Click here to view the list of recent Press Releases from FieldTurf
Promote Your Business