PR.com: Business Directory, Press Releases, Jobs, Products, Services, Articles
 
Businesses Articles Press Releases Follow @PRcom
Press Release Pricing | News by Category | News by Country | News by US Region | Recent News | PR.com News on Your Site
 

Press Releases

 
Mohawk Media

Press Release


Receive press releases from Mohawk Media: By Email RSS Feeds:

"American Great" – Mr. T – Returns in Major Graphic Novel by British Publisher


"A-Team" action hero breaks out into world of books.

London, United Kingdom, February 23, 2008 --(PR.com)-- In anticipation of the major worldwide launch of their Mr. T graphic novel in summer 2008, British publisher Mohawk Media has announced that they are celebrating with a special Limited Advance Edition.

With a total number of only 4,000 copies, Mr. T: Limited Advance Edition is now available. It marks the return to prominence of Mr. T, the Mohawk muscleman who was voted the fourth “Greatest American” in a recent global BBC poll, muscling in front of the likes of Thomas Jefferson, George Washington, Benjamin Franklin and Franklin D. Roosevelt.

‘It’s great to be the star of a graphic novel’, says Mr. T. ‘And great entertainment is always driven by great writing!’

Mr. T continues: ‘There’s my long-time fans, but there’s also a new generation because of “A-Team” reruns, my cartoon show reruns, and the renewed interest in “Rocky III” following the recent sequel. That’s humbling, and this graphic novel is my method of reaching them all. I’m so proud of all my life’s work, but to see myself in this book feels extra special.’

Author Christopher Bunting adds: ‘We’ve seen comebacks happen over and over again in the entertainment industry, whether it's John Travolta, the Spice Girls, or fictitious characters such as Indiana Jones or Rambo. Now it’s Mr. T’s time.’

Bunting continues: ‘I’m often drawn to writing “mystery” dramas, where threads weave a much larger tapestry, with the core being the human journey, in the vein of “Lost” or “Heroes”. Therefore my attention had increasingly turned to novels and scriptwriting, and away from the shrinking comic industry. This graphic novel has been the perfect vehicle. I could approach it as a novel, yet also incorporate the finest elements from comics and television.

‘And besides, when Mr. T calls you personally, wanting you to do it, you don’t dare say no!’

Editor Stuart Buckley adds: ‘This book’s star is already a household name known and loved the world over, making this possibly the world’s highest-profile graphic novel. It’s a call for celebration, hence this Limited Advance Edition.’

Buckley continues: ‘Most so-called “graphic novels” are reprints of comics, the equivalent of cobbling together a bunch of episodes of a TV show and calling it a “movie”; or works that, in their desire to be highbrow, determinedly distance themselves from their comic forefather.

‘Neither makes full use of the inherent potential in graphic novel storytelling. This book – an all-original like Mr. T himself – does.’

Mr. T, who contributes world-exclusive interviews to the graphic novel and acts as its Executive Editor, adds: ‘I’ve always strived to be a good role model to children and adults alike. I can’t think of a better way to do that than by encouraging people to read! What would I say to anyone who doesn’t read my graphic novel? “I pity the fool!” ’

Mr. T: Limited Advance Edition can be ordered direct from publisher Mohawk Media at www.mohawkmedia.co.uk for the exclusive price of £15.99 / $39.00 including delivery. Alternatively, from April 2008, it will be available through bookstores worldwide, including online, by quoting its 13-digit ISBN: 9780955680403.

###

Notes to the Editor

Photo available from www.mohawkmedia.co.uk/photo (alternatively, email editor@mohawkmedia.co.uk).

For review copy, interview, images, or further information, please contact: Stuart Buckley: editor@mohawkmedia.co.uk. Tel: +44 (0) 7854 772329.

Please include their website: www.mohawkmedia.co.uk in your story or review.

About the author
Christopher Bunting lives in England and has written extensively for a variety of magazines and comic books. He also wrote “Action Man” (the literal British incarnation of “G.I. Joe”). The sales of this comic were frequently in excess of those achieved by the highest-selling Marvel and DC titles in the USA.

About the illustrator
Illustrator J.L. Czerniawski has worked in both the fantasy and comic book industries, including providing art for such properties as “Transformers” and, with the movie’s director Joe Carnahan, “Smokin’ Aces”.

More about graphic novels
Graphic novels are a rapidly expanding literary medium and can be found in most bookstores and online bookstores and many other outlets, from airports to music stores. These books have won critical acclaim, including the Pulitzer Prize and the Guardian Prize.

Movies such as “From Hell”, “Sin City”, “300”, “Stardust” and “30 Days of Night” are based on graphic novels, while “The Dark Knight Returns” has been highly influential on the latest “Batman” movie franchise.

###
Contact Information
Mohawk Media
Stuart Buckley
07854 772329
Contact
www.mohawkmedia.co.uk

Click here to view the list of recent Press Releases from Mohawk Media
Promote Your Business