Cannabis Chemistry Subdivision of the Chemical Health & Safety Division Scholarship is Being Renamed to Elsohly Award for Excellence in the Field of Cannabis Chemistry

San Diego, CA, October 22, 2018 --( CANN or better known as Cannabis Chemistry Subdivision was founded in 2015 to build a home within the American Chemical Society for cannabis chemists. “This gave cannabis scientists a way to be connected at a time there was no collection of information and standards,” says Ezra Pryor, founding member and Past Chair of CANN as well as Applied Markets Specialist at Heidolph North America.

Now three years after its formation, CANN has implemented a scholarship that is open to the entire scientific community. This scholarship award is like none before it and promises to be a positive influence on the state of the art and on cannabis chemistry’s place in the larger scientific community. With a substantial contribution from Heidolph North America, CANN has been able to make their vision a reality. The scholarship funds travel and registration for the chemists to share their accomplishments with the larger scientific community during the spring ACS’ national meetings of each year.

After it’s first successful cohort of seven scientists who presented this past March at the ACS National Meeting in New Orleans the organization has decided to rename the scholarship to pay respect to Dr. Mahmoud ElSohly who has made a tremendous contributions to the field of cannabis chemistry.

This year's scholarship recipients include:

Dr. Monica Vialpando

Stephen Goldman MS

Michael Coffin MS

Bryant Jones
Heidolph North America
Nicole Kvasnicka
224-265-9600 x111