CEE Congratulates Tiffany Oliver

McLean, VA, December 13, 2019 --(PR.com)-- The Center for Excellence in Education (CEE) congratulates Tiffany Oliver, IB Biology teacher from T.R. Robinson High School, a recipient of a Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST), the highest honor bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teaching. PAEMST was established by Congress in 1983.

“Ms. Oliver attended the CEE Teacher Enrichment Program's Tampa Bite of Science workshop in 2018 in Tampa, Florida. It is so wonderful to see her recognized in this way,” said Mariah Green, Director of CEE’s TEP program.

Tiffany Oliver has taught biology at T.R. Robinson High School since 2003, and currently teaches International Baccalaureate Higher Level Biology to 11th-12th grade students. She taught previously at the Caribbean International Academy and St. Maarten Montessori School, Northern Virginia Community College, and the University of South Florida.

“The Center for Excellence in Education is very proud of Ms. Oliver for having garnered the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. She is a fine role model who has participated in the Center’s Teacher Enrichment Program,” said Joann DiGennaro, CEE’s President.

A panel of distinguished mathematicians, scientists, and educators at the State and national levels assess the applications before recommending nominees to OSTP. Teachers are selected based on their distinction in the classroom and dedication to improving science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) education. After a long selection process, Ms. Oliver was nominated as one of four finalists from the state of Florida for the award. The Awardees were recently announced by the White House.

Awardees come from schools in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) schools, and schools in the United States territories of Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands. Nominations and awards are facilitated by the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) and the National Science Foundation.
Center for Excellence in Education (CEE)
Tom Flavell