Maryland Automobile Dealers Association Honors 2008 Teachers Of The Year

Baltimore, MD, June 02, 2008 --( The Maryland Automobile Dealers Association is partnering with the Maryland State Board of Education to recognize the state’s most outstanding educators as Teachers of the Year.

“With their dedication, commitment, and the passion they bring to the job every day, these outstanding educators are true role models, not just to students, but to all of us,” said Peter Kitzmiller, president of MADA. “We are honored and inspired by their example.”

Mr. Kitzmiller will join State Schools Superintendent Nancy S. Grasmick and members of the Maryland State Board of Education at a luncheon and ceremony on Thursday, May 28, 2008 to honor the teachers, who were selected to represent each Maryland county and the City of Baltimore. One of the day’s honorees will ultimately be chosen as Maryland’s 2008 State Teacher of the Year.

Maryland’s Teachers of the Year for 2008-2009 are:

Michaela Linn, Mountain Ridge High School (Allegany);
Clayton Culp, Broadneck High School (Anne Arundel)
Kristin Covaleskie, Northwood Elementary School (Baltimore City)
John Billingslea, Franklin High School (Baltimore);
Margo Gross, Calvert Elementary School (Calvert)
Melissa McFayden, Ridgely Elementary School (Caroline)
Mary Catherine Stephens, Winfield Elementary School (Carroll)
Sharon Thomas, Elkton High School (Cecil)
Margaret Childers, T.C. Martin Elementary School (Charles)
Dawn Chandler, Hurlock Elementary School (Dorchester)
Kathryn Tobery, Oakdale Middle School (Frederick)
Jenny Neville, Broad Ford Elementary School (Garrett)
Ronald Wooden, George D. Lisby Elementary School (Harford)
Terry Eberhardt, Marriotts Ridge High School (Howard)
Lorraine Armstrong, Rock Hall Middle School (Kent)
Christopher Orlando, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School (Montgomery)
William Thomas, Dr. Henry A. Wise, Jr. High School (Prince George’s)
Karey Anne Coppage, Centreville Elementary School (Queen Anne’s)
Bonnie Beavan, Spring Ridge Middle School (St. Mary’s)
Sharon Richards, J.W. Tawes Technology & Career Center and Marion Sarah Peyton School (Somerset)
Julie Harp, Easton Middle School (Talbot)
Shanna Byrd, Funkstown School for Early Childhood Education (Washington)
Debra Wilkins, North Salisbury Elementary School (Wicomico)
Amy Gallagher, Stephen Decatur Middle School (Worcester).

About the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association
Maryland Automobile Dealers Association (MADA) is a statewide association of new car and truck dealers managed by a Board of Directors, which consists of members representing districts throughout the State. MADA was founded in 1910 as a non-profit trade association for the purpose of: "facilitating the exchange of ideas among its members; to encourage sound business policies; to foster constructive motor vehicle legislation; to discourage destructive motor vehicle legislation, and to promote confidence, respect and good fellowship among all who are directly or indirectly engaged in the motor vehicle industry." For more information visit MADA online at

Maryland Automobile Dealers Association
Nancy Carr
Katie Jones