U-Iowa Professor Wins Inspire Integrity Award

Linda Bolton, University of Iowa English Professor, is recipient of the only national student-nominated award for professors who inspire and instill integrity in their students.

Washington, DC, June 19, 2008 --(PR.com)-- Linda Bolton, an associate professor of English at the University of Iowa, is the national recipient of the Inspire Integrity Awards. The awards are the only national student-nominated award that recognize college instructors for their commitment to embodying and instilling integrity.

The awards are sponsored by The National Society of Collegiate Scholars, an honor society inviting high achieving freshmen and sophomores.

“We’re proud to recognize Dr. Bolton for her work with students at the University of Iowa,” said Stephen E. Loflin, NSCS’ Executive Director. “Dr. Bolton recognizes the importance of instilling integrity in her students and has worked tirelessly toward that cause.”

In addition to an award, Dr. Bolton will receive a personal stipend of $3,000 and an additional $2,500 contribution made in her name to the University of Iowa’s general scholarship fund.

In addition to creating rigorous academic assignments and fostering energetic classroom discussions, Dr. Bolton used community service as a tool to help students develop empathy and a sense of ethical responsibility for their community. This, coupled with glowing recommendations from her colleagues and students, led the judging panel to select her for the national award.

The Inspire Integrity Awards took place in five regions across the United States. Students nominated faculty members in each region who inspired integrity through their classroom lectures, activities, and curriculum. Nominated faculty members were asked to write a brief essay on the concept of integrity and its meaning to them.

Regional selection committees selected three finalists from each region, each of whom will receive an award and a personal stipend of $250.

The fifteen finalists were judged by a national selection committee, who named one runner-up and one national Inspire Integrity Award recipient.

The National Society of Collegiate Scholars
Mishri Someshwar