Long Valley, NJ, May 16, 2009 --(PR.com
)-- Following an intensive three-year effort, a piece of New Jersey history has been fully restored. Oak Cottage, a more than one acre property that includes a 13-room Second Empire style dwelling as well as a 1,400 square foot mill (1828 water wheel powered Apple Cidar Distillery) once again reigns as the “Gem of the Mountain”.
Oak Cottage and the mill were originally built in the early 19th century in the heart of one of the nation’s very first health resorts. Oak Cottage is protected as a property on the National Historic Register and New Jersey Register of Historic Places. Featured on several postcards from the era, Oak Cottage was converted to a Second Empire architectural style around 1860, and was called the ‘Gem of the Mountain’ because of its location, style, and elegance. General Ulysses S. Grant is rumored to have visited the house; and the Grant, Vanderbilt, Astor, and Rockefeller families were noted visitors to the adjacent resort hotel.
The house has been carefully updated to include everything from all new heating, electric and plumbing to new appliances and granite countertops - while the original cedar siding was preserved, the floors salvaged and re-finished, plaster walls and picture framing details protected wherever possible, and each of the windows re-built on site by hand, recreating every detail down to the antique glass. According to Michele Pulis, partner in JFCGE Holdings LLC, owner of the property, every possible preservation effort has been extended to ensure that the historic nature of Oak Cottage survives.
“It’s been a huge restoration effort in terms of finances and labor. No preservation effort has been spared,” says Pulis. “This project has taken longer than planned, but it’s been a rewarding experience. This is the type of property you just fall in love with – and the preservation of this historic site is very important to the community. Future generations will benefit from the effort.”
Robert Pulis and his assistant, son-in-law Jason DuBow, have spent untold hours on this restoration project, which is now nearing the end of its third year. The attention to detail was recognized in 2007 with the Award for Best Historic Preservation Work in Progress. Pulis calls the award a testament to how hard her family has worked to preserve the nearly 200-year history of the property.
“When we bought Oak Cottage it had been condemned and was nearing collapse.” says Pulis. “We salvaged everything possible and honored the history and spirit of the house at all times. We made this a huge commitment in our lives for the last three years, but now it’s time for someone to call Oak Cottage home.”
An open house will be held at Oak Cottage on Memorial Day Weekend (May 23rd-25th). Private viewing appointments and pre-listing offers are being accepted. For more detailed information and for updated photos of Oak Cottage, please visit: http://www.OakCottage.info
About Oak Cottage: Also known as ‘The Gem of the Mountain,’ historic Oak Cottage is a sprawling property in Long Valley, Morris County, New Jersey that includes a 13-room Second Empire Victorian, a 1,400 square-foot mill/carriage house and a private pond spread out over more than one acre. It is located within an easy New York City commute – and minutes from the train station. Built in the early 19th century, Oak Cottage is protected as a property on the National Historic Register as well as the New Jersey Register of Historic Places. Appointments for viewing and pre-listing offers are now being accepted for Oak Cottage.