All Aboard the 1790 Cincinnati Express

17 Players Signed for PASL 2009-2010 Season.

Fairfield, OH, November 16, 2009 --( Cincinnati’s Professional Indoor Soccer Team, the 1790 Cincinnati Express, has signed 17 players for the 2009-2010 Professional Arena Soccer League.

Head coach Alex Rawlings has been conducting tryouts, practices and scrimmages over the past 6 weeks to narrow down the roster. “It’s been a tough decision with so many talented players in the Cincinnati area. We are fortunate enough to be returning a lot of our core lineup from last year’s team as well as the addition of some of the reserve players. We are definitely excited and ready to get the season going.”

The 2008-2009 Eastern Division Champs will be returning 10 players, including First Team PASL Selections: Goalkeeper Craig Salvati and Defender Garret Buck, as well as Second Team PASL Selections: Shawn Rockey and Jeff Hughes.

The goalkeeper position this season will be a battle between last year’s starter, Craig Salvati and former Cincinnati Excite Goalkeeper Zac Van Frank. “Zac and I will definitely be keeping each other sharp this season and pushing each other daily, we want to lead the league in Goals against again this season,” said Craig Salvati.

The defensive line has kept their strength with shot blocker specialist, Jeff Henderson, quick footed Garret Buck, speedy Lionell Jackson and big man Sam Fiore.

Shawn Rockey and Jeff Hughes will anchor the midfield corps and will be surrounded with new talent. Last year’s player coach, Craig Rhodis moves into the Assistant Coach role along with his duties as Director of Soccer Operations.

Up front will be 1790’s 2008-2009 leading goal scorer Matt Breines and super skilled Jack Cummings. The duo will definitely create lots of magic and excitement as well as numerous goals for this year’s team. “I’m looking forward to working up top again this year and working to put goals up on the board. Jack and I have different styles of play that will confuse the defenses,” said Matt Breines.

The 17 signed players are:

GK: Craig Salvati #1
GK: Zac Van Frank #0
F: Matt Breines #9
M: Tim Brown #5
D: Garret Buck #7
F: Jack Cummings #99
D: Sam Fiore #13
D: Jeff Henderson #14
M: Eddie Hersenberg #8
M: Jeff Hughes #23
D: Lionell Jackson #3
M: Shawn Rockey #10
M: Kevin Noshang #53
D: Kurt Fischer #57
F: Scott Stockum #11
M: Chris Miliano #2
M: Tony Capurro #15

The 1790 Express season kicked off Friday night, November 13th, with a 6-5 win over the Louisville Lighting. The Gametime Training Center in Fairfield, Ohio hosts the home opening game on November 21st at 8:00pm.

Visit the website at for ticket and schedule information.

1790 Cincinnati Express
Craig Salvati