On the Baseline Tennis News Presents the Winners of the 3rd Annual Baseline Awards Presented by Rebounces

Serena Williams takes top honors as the 2009 Player of the Year, while Melanie Oudin makes a splash as Newcomer of the Year.

Harrison, AR, January 07, 2010 --(PR.com)-- On the Baseline Tennis News is proud to announce the winners of the 2009 Baseline Awards presented by Rebounces.

Since 2007, Rebounces (www.rebounces.com) has been a green leader in tennis through its efforts to keep tennis balls in play and out of landfills, while growing the game by making affordable practice balls available to players.

The 2009 winners were determined by fan voting at OnTheBaseline.com from December 1-28, 2009. Leading the list of eighteen winners is Serena Williams, who was voted 2009 Player of the Year. Williams won two Grand Slam singles titles at the Australian Open and Wimbledon, as well as the season-ending Sony Ericsson Championships – Doha 2009 title.

“Serena Williams was undoubtedly the most consistent player of 2009 and it is no surprise that our readers have chosen her as the Player of the Year,” said Aaress Lawless, editor of On the Baseline. “She is a remarkable champion and one of the most successful tennis players of her generation. On behalf of On the Baseline, I would like to congratulate Serena and all of this year’s award winners.”

“Rebounces would like to congratulate Serena Williams on being voted Player of the Year, which was no doubt due to her strong play throughout the year,” said Cannon Fletcher, co-founder of Rebounces. “I would also like to congratulate the other talented ladies who won awards. Thank you all for such a great year of tennis and we look forward to the start of 2010.”

Complete List of the 2009 Baseline Award Winners
+ Player of the Year – Serena Williams
+ Doubles Team of the Year – Venus and Serena Williams
+ Most Improved Player of the Year – Caroline Wozniacki
+ Newcomer of the Year – Melanie Oudin
+ Fan Favorite of the Year – Maria Sharapova
+ Humanitarian of the Year – Ana Ivanovic
+ Twitterer of the Year – Kim Clijsters
+ Best Coach of 2009 – Piotr Wozniacki
+ Best Grand Slam Final of 2009 – Kim Clijsters d. Caroline Wozniacki (US Open)
+ Best Non-Grand Slam Final of 2009 – Elena Dementieva d. Dinara Safina (Sydney)
+ Biggest Upset of 2009 – Melanie Oudin d. Elena Dementieva (US Open)
+ Most Emotional Moment of 2009 – Kim Clijsters’ US Open Final Win
+ Best USA Television Coverage – ESPN2
+ Best USA Television Commentator – John McEnroe
+ Best Tennis Writer – Peter Bodo
+ Best Tennis Website – SonyEricssonWTATour.com
+ Best Tennis Blog – Women’s Tennis Blog
+ Best Official Player Website – Ana Ivanovic

Since the site’s launch in 2005, On the Baseline has provided daily news, interviews, commentary and results from professional women’s tennis and the Sony Ericsson WTA Tour.

As part of its Replay, Reuse, Recycle initiative, Rebounces partners with organizations such as OnTheBaseline.com to collect tennis balls, re-pressurize them and sell them in bulk as practice balls.

Cannon Fletcher