Triumph for the Morgenstern Trio: German Piano Trio Awarded Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson International Trio Award

The Chamber Music Society of Detroit has announced that the 2009 winner of the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson International Trio Award (KLRITA) is the German trio, the Morgenstern Trio.

Farmington Hills, MI, January 13, 2010 --( The Chamber Music Society of Detroit today announced that the 2009 winner of the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson International Trio Award (KLRITA) is the Morgenstern Trio. After a call for nominations sent internationally to classical music presenters, musicians, educators and other professionals, the trio was selected in New York by a panel comprising musicians.

-About the Winning Ensemble-
Taking its name from the German poet, author and humorist Christian Morgenstern (1871 – 1914), the Morgenstern Trio was formed in 2005 at the Folkwang Academy in Essen, Germany; its membership consists of pianist Catherine Klipfel from France, violinist Stefan Hempel from Germany (who joined the ensemble in the summer of 2009, succeeding violinist Nina Reddig) and cellist Emanuel Wehse from Germany. In 2007, after only two years of intensive collaboration, the Trio was awarded first prize at the International Joseph Haydn Competition in Vienna, second prize at the Fifth Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition and second prize and the audience prize at the prestigious ARD Competition in Munich.

The Morgenstern Trio has toured throughout Europe under the auspices of the Bundesauswahl Konzerte Junger Künstler (a national concert organization for Germany’s rising young artists) and the “Best of NRW” concert series. Festival appearances include the Pablo Casals Festival in Prades, France, the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, the Heidelberger Frühling, the WDR Musikfest and the Kuhmo Chamber Music Festival in Finland. The Trio was recently invited to participate in the European Concert Hall Organization (ECHO) "Rising Stars" series and is making its debut during the 2009-2010 season at leading concert halls across Europe in such major cities as Paris, Vienna, Amsterdam, Cologne, Brussels, Birmingham and Stockholm. The ensemble has appeared on numerous radio broadcasts throughout Europe and released its debut CD of works by Beethoven and Brahms in 2008. Providing the Morgenstern Trio’s debut appearances in the United States, the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson International Trio Award tour will take on a special significance for this accomplished trio.

-About the Award-
A biennial piano trio award, the KLRTIA derives its impetus from the desire to honor the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio in perpetuity by giving recognition to this trio's contribution to chamber music for over 30 years. In addition, the award was created to encourage and enhance the careers of accomplished and promising young and "rising" piano trios that will be chosen every other year. To be considered for the award, trios must have been together for approximately 5-10 years, be actively touring and have professional management. The KLRITA is administered by the Chamber Music Society of Detroit.

Originated by Lois R. Beznos, President of the Chamber Music Society of Detroit, the KLRITA is based upon the collaboration of 20 chamber music presenters. The winning trio benefits from presentation on the series of these 20 presenters nationwide over the two-year award period. Moreover, the Award provides for a CD recording of the winning trio by Azica Records. The winning trio also benefit from the contribution by Kenneth Warren & Son, Ltd. of instrument maintenance services by its workshop in addition to its efforts to identify the highest quality violins and cellos as prospective loans to the trio winners during the award period.

The KLRITA is supported in part by the contribution of $30,000 each by the 20 participating chamber music presenting organizations across the U.S., including the Chamber Music Society of Detroit. A unique advantage to presenters is that, in perpetuity, they will have the benefit of an endowed concert, paid for by the award endowment fund, every other season. Additional support for the KLRITA comes from Jean and Sam Frankel, the Matilda R. Wilson Fund and the Whitney Fund.

-Recognition Opportunities-
Significant recognition opportunities are available for additional major donors to the award endowment. For information, contact Lois Beznos, President, Chamber Music Society of Detroit, 248-737-9982.

-Past KLRITA Winners-
Claremont Trio, 2003
Trio con Brio Copenhagen, 2005
ATOS Trio, 2007
Morgenstern Trio, 2009
The ATOS Trio, current winner of the KLRITA, will complete its Award tour during the 2009-2010 season after which the Morgenstern Trio will embark upon its twenty-concert tour during the 2010-2011 and 2011-2012 seasons.

-KLRITA Presenters-
The following presenters have contributed to the KLRITA endowment fund to participate in the award:
Ames Town & Gown Chamber Music Association
Arizona Friends of Chamber Music
Carnegie Hall
Cerritos Center for the Performing Arts
Chamber Music Cincinnati
Chamber Music Monterey Bay
Chamber Music Sedona
Chamber Music Society of Detroit
Chamber Music Society of Louisville
Chamber Music Society of Utica
Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center, University of Maryland
El Camino College Center for the Arts
Friends of Chamber Music - Kansas City
Irving S. Gilmore International Keyboard Festival
Raymond F. Kravis Center for the Performing Arts
Naples Philharmonic Center for the Arts
Purdue Convocations - Purdue University
San Antonio Chamber Music Society
Thomasville Entertainment Foundation
University of Chicago Presents

Marx Layne
Lauren Herrin