D.A. Powell and Beth Bachmann Win Prestigious Kingsley and Kate Tufts Poetry Award for 2010

Claremont Graduate University's top prize

Claremont, CA, February 06, 2010 --(PR.com)-- Claremont Graduate University has announced D.A. Powell has won the $100,000 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award and Beth Bachmann has won the Kate Tufts Discovery Award.

Powell is the author of Tea (1998), Lunch (2000), and Cocktails (2004). His most recent book, Chronic, is also a finalist for the NBCC Award in Poetry, and was named a Best Book of 2009 by Publishers Weekly and the Kansas City Star. He teaches at the University of San Francisco and lives in the Bay Area.

The Kingsley Tufts prize was established in 1992 to honor work by a midcareer poet. Powell is 46.

Bachmann won the Kate Tufts Award for her first book of poetry, Temper. The Kate Tufts Award is given to a poet for their first book of poetry.

Temper, was selected by Lynn Emanuel as winner of the AWP Award Series 2008 Donald Hall Prize in Poetry. Her poems appear in American Poetry Review, Black Warrior Review, Kenyon Review, Ploughshares, Prairie Schooner, Southern Review, and Tin House, among other journals, and have been anthologized in Alice Redux: New Stories of Alice, Lewis and Wonderland and Best New Poets 2005 and 2007. She holds graduate degrees from the Johns Hopkins Writing Seminars and Concordia University in Montreal and teaches creative writing at Vanderbilt University.

"I am deeply honored to have been selected by this panel of poets, whose work I greatly admire," Bachmann said. "The Kate Tufts Award is unbelievably encouraging and extremely motivating. I’m blown away. And to be selected alongside D.A. Powell: amazing.

"I spent much of the last five years working on the book, in one form or the other. The poems in Temper are, at least in part, an elegy for my sister, who was killed in 1993. The poems are about violence and representations of violence, how violence happens and how the lyric form can respond to it. Temper was a hard book to write, a hard matter to live through.

"The award is a shot in the arm. It grants me the freedom to write the poems I want to write and to take the risks I need to get there. I’m indebted to all involved for this wonderful gift."

The panel of final judges for the 2010 Kingsley and Kate Tufts Poetry Awards were: Linda Gregerson, poet, Professor of English Language and Literature at the University of Michigan, past Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award recipient and Chair of the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Awards; Ted Genoways, award-winning poet and editor of the Virginia Quarterly Review; Paul Muldoon, poet, Professor at Princeton University and Poetry Editor of The New Yorker; Carl Phillips, poet, professor of English and African and Afro-American studies at Washington University in St. Louis, chancellor of the Academy of American Poets, and past Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award recipient; Charles Harper Webb, poet, critic, Professor of English at California State University Long Beach, and past Kate Tufts Discovery Award recipient.

The panel of preliminary judges for the 2010 competition included: Derick Burleson, poet, Assistant Professor in the MFA program at the University of Alaska and Kingsley Tufts Poetry Awards Chair; Suji Kwock Kim, poet, playwright and assistant professor of contemporary and Korean American poetry at University of Massachusetts, Boston; Nadine Meyer, poet and Assistant Professor of English at Gettysburg College.

The awards will be presented at 6:30 p.m. April 22 at the Pasadena Museum of California Art. The ceremony will feature a poetry reading followed by a book signing. The free event is open to the public, although an RSVP is required at (909) 621-8974 or http://www.cgu.edu/tufts.

About the Tufts Awards
The Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award was established at Claremont Graduate University in 1992 by Kate Tufts to honor the memory of her husband Kingsley Tufts, who held executive positions in the Los Angeles Shipyards and wrote poetry as his avocation. The Kate Tufts Discovery Award was initiated in 1993. Former Kingsley Tufts Award winners include Robert Wrigley, Tom Sleigh, Linda Gregerson, Matthea Harvey and Yusef Komunyakaa.

About Claremont Graduate University

Founded in 1925, Claremont Graduate University is one of the top graduate schools in the United States. Our nine academic schools conduct leading-edge research and award masters and doctoral degrees in 22 disciplines. Because the world’s problems are not simple nor easily defined, diverse faculty and students research and study across the traditional discipline boundaries to create new and practical solutions for the major problems plaguing our world. A Southern California based graduate school devoted entirely to graduate research and study, CGU boasts a low student-to-faculty ratio

Claremont Graduate University
Nikolaos Johnson