NSCS Announces 2010 Chapter Officer Award Recipients

Washington, DC, April 14, 2010 --(PR.com)-- The National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS) has awarded five top officers the Chapter Officer Award of 2010. This award is given to outstanding NSCS officers who run the NSCS chapters on university campuses around the country.

NSCS is an honors organization that recognizes and elevates high-achieving college students at 250 universities across the US.

NSCS chapters are established and run by its student members. Officers oversee weekly meetings, organize events and fulfill program requirements, manage the chapter budget and keep an open line of communication with the national office, which is located in Washington, D.C.

Congratulations to:

• Mykel Walsh, Chapter President, Southern Utah University
• Alexandra Shue, Chapter President, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
• Carolyn Collier, Chapter President, College of William & Mary
• Allison Crawford, Chapter President, California Polytechnic State University
• James Walsh, Chapter President, University of Alaska Fairbanks

“These chapter officers have distinguished themselves by their dedication, innovation, determination and enthusiasm,” said Stephen E. Loflin, NSCS’ Founder and Executive Director. “They’ve embraced their position and created an engaged chapter that is connected to the mission of the Society in every way. This award is our way of saying thank you for all they’ve done and continue to do.”

Each recipient will be awarded $200 towards their education.

To apply, chapter officers answered questions describing how they have contributed to their chapter and in turn how the chapter has contributed to their campus community.

The National Society of Collegiate Scholars
Mishri Someshwar
Janine Deegan