PR.com: Business Directory, Press Releases, Jobs, Products, Services, Articles
 
Businesses Articles Press Releases Follow @PRcom
Press Release Pricing | News by Category | News by Country | News by US Region | Recent News | PR.com News on Your Site
Outskirts Press, Inc.
 

Company Overview

Products & Services

Contact Info & Offices

Press Releases

Press Kits

Executives & Employees

Outskirts Press, Inc.

Press Release


Receive press releases from Outskirts Press, Inc.: By Email RSS Feeds:

Submerged Pierce-Arrow First Clue to The Bootlegger’s Secret, Published by Outskirts Press


Gulf Shores, AL, July 02, 2010 --(PR.com)-- Free-lance writer Michael Springer today announced the release of his novel The Bootlegger’s Secret, published by Outskirts Press. The book’s two young heroes follow in the tradition of Huck Finn and Tom Sawyer as they learn the hard lessons that sometimes come from boys being thrown too quickly into an adult world.

A story for all ages, The Bootlegger’s Secret starts at the tree house Mark Penn and Swede Larson have built by the river that summer in 1941 when the Middleton, Minnesota, schools are out, the Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey Circus is about to come to town, and the baseball season is on for the Middletown Aces.

Swimming in the river one afternoon, they spot the hood ornament of a 1931 Pierce-Arrow and Swede dives down to retrieve an inlaid gold cigarette case from the submerged car. Inside the case the boys are delighted to find a music box, Turkish filter tips and the photograph of a beautiful woman.

Soon police also recover from the car the corpse of one Eddie Knowland, a local bootlegging kingpin and member of Al Capone’s Chicago gang.

The cigarette case also contains a secret compartment with Eddie’s “business” records, and when the case disappears, the two boys are pulled back and forth between Treasury agents needing that evidence to prosecute corrupt officials and Chicago gangsters who want the records for blackmail.

Caught in this deadly squeeze, the boys are forced to come up with a plan that will extricate them from this dangerous dilemma and still preserve their own integrity -- as well as their lives.

The Bootlegger’s Secret is available on-line in paperback through Amazon and Barnes and Noble and at www.outskirtspress.com/buybooks for a maximum trade discount in quantities of ten or more.

ISBN: 978-1-4327-5792-2 Format: 6 x 9 paperback SRP: $15.95
Genre: Fiction/action and adventure/education

About the author:

Michael Springer is a Minnesota native, a graduate of Minnesota State University, a former Navy line officer and a free-lance writer. He now lives with his wife in Gulf Shores, Alabama.

For more information or to contact the author, visit www.outskirtspress.com/michaelspringer.

About Outskirts Press, Inc,: Outskirts Press, Inc. offers full-service, custom self-publishing and book marketing services for authors seeking a cost-effective, fast, and flexible way to publish and distribute their books worldwide while retaining all their rights and full creative control. Available for authors globally at www.outskirtspress.com and located on the outskirts of Denver, Colorado, Outskirts Press represents the future of book publishing, today.

###

Outskirts Press, Inc., 10940 S. Parker Rd. - 515, Parker, Colorado 80134
http://outskirtspress.com 1-888-OP-BOOKS
Contact Information
Outskirts Press
Kelly Schuknecht
888.672.6657
Contact
www.outskirtspress.com

Click here to view the company profile of Outskirts Press, Inc.
Click here to view the list of recent Press Releases from Outskirts Press, Inc.
Promote Your Business