“When Pigs Fly” Album - Songs You Never Thought You'd Hear

“When Pigs Fly” is a compilation album comprised of famous artists performing covers of songs far outside their genre. The songs were recorded exclusively for this project and are cannot be found anywhere else.

New York, NY, July 22, 2010 --(PR.com)-- When Pigs Fly: Songs You Never Thought You’d Hear, a unique collection of newly recorded covers that mixes both legendary and contemporary artists doing versions of classic hit songs far out of their usual musical genre, has just been released and is now available only online at www.PigsFlyCD.com (Xemu Records).

The brainchild of record producer Cevin Soling, When Pigs Fly: Songs You Never Thought You’d Hear, was brought to reality to create an “unforgettable” album. The recordings include Ani DiFranco and film star Jackie Chan doing a re-make of the Natalie Cole classic, Unforgettable; new wave icons Devo performing Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young’s Ohio; 80’s pop stars, The Fixx, creating their own take on the Nancy Sinatra hit, These Boots Are Made For Walkin'; Lesley Gore singing the AC/DC tune, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap; and country music legends, The Oak Ridge Boys, recording the Kansas megahit, Carry On My Wayward Son.

The album also features original 60’s pop stars The Box Tops (with Alex Chilton) performing their version of Blondie’s Call Me; and Herman’s Hermits (with Peter Noone) doing their rendition of Billy Idol’s White Wedding. Billy Preston covers Duran Duran’s Girls On Film; and, the only track previously released, Roy Clark performs Louis Armstrong’s classic What A Wonderful World. The CD also includes recordings by The Connells and The Neanderthal Spongecake; and a unique version of Peter Gabriel’s Shock The Monkey by Hawaiian legend, Don Ho. The record has already received tremendous attention appearing in Entertainment Weekly, hundreds of major radio stations, The AP Newswire, CNN, Billboard, and many other media outlets.

“When Pigs Fly: Songs You Never Thought You’d Hear is a fun album to stump guests with at a party. I figure the more tequila you’ve had, the funnier this album gets.”
--Melinda Newman, Billboard Magazine

What makes the album so interesting is that each artist’s distinctive style brings a uniquely different experience to the way the song was originally recorded. The record is unlike anything you've heard before...

The Track Listing:
1- Ani Di Franco & Jackie Chan: Nat King Cole’s Unforgettable
2- Devo: Crosby, Stills, Nash And Young’s Ohio
3- The Box Tops: Blondie’s Call Me
4- The Connells: Cypress Hill’s Insane In The Brain
5- Don Ho: Peter Gabriel’s Shock The Monkey
6- Roy Clark: Louis Armstrong’s What A Wonderful World
7- Billy Preston: Duran Duran’s Girls On Film
8- The Fixx: Nancy Sinatra’s These Boots Are Made For Walkin’
9- The Oak Ridge Boys: Kansas’ Carry On Wayward Son
10- The Neanderthal Spongecake: T Rex’s Get It On (Bang A Gong)
11- Herman’s Hermits: Billy Idol’s White Wedding
12- Lesley Gore: Ac/Dc’s Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap

Xemu Records
Paul Fillmore