2010 Medal Play Golf Tour Championship Results

Indian Wells, CA, September 15, 2010 --(PR.com)-- The 2010 Medal Play Golf Tour Championship was contested Sunday, September 12th at the beautiful Celebrity Course at Indian Wells Golf Resort in Indian Wells, CA. “As usual we had some great competition today on a very difficult, yet playable course” said tour director Blane Freytag. “Indian Wells was a perfect venue to end the season with.”

Jacob Yousef brought his A game to take the title in the Championship division by 3 shots over runner up Jay Rein. The ever consistent Shaun Clark took 3rd. Julian Hernandez took 4th to lock in Player of the Year honors in the season ending Fall Finish points race, a Fed Ex style season points race similar to the PGA Tour.

The Gold Division crown went to Brian Curci with a fine round of net 71. “I am committed to finding more Gold and Silver Division players for the 2011 season,” stated Freytag.

The Senior Championship Division went to a scorecard playoff after both Rick Lehman and Lee Woodard posted net 73’s. Lehman took the title on the card playoff. Jack Martin took third to squeeze in the Player of the Year honors by a scant 20 points in this very competitive division.

Thomas Vail returned from vacation well rested to shoot an amazing net 69 in the Senior Gold Division along with season points leader Virgil Mink. Vail won the scorecard playoff, while Mink went home with Player of the Year. David Onken took third.

Stan Tankersley of the Senior Silver Division plays well at big events. Tankersley took the title at the Medal Play Open at Classic Club in June, then fired a net 70 to take the Tour Championship. Player of the Year Chuck Thomas was second and Greg Widman finished 3rd.

Complete results are available at www.medalplaygolftour.com. The tour returns to action with a new season On January 9th at the Golf Club at Terra Lago North Course. Complete details are on the website.

Top Division Finishers (Net)

Championship Division

68 – Jacob Yousef
71 – Jay Rein
76 – Shaun Clark

Gold Division

71 – Brian Curci

Senior Championship Division

73 – Rick Lehman
73 – Lee Woodard
75 – Jack Martin

Senior Gold Division

69 – Thomas Vail
69 – Virgil Mink
70 – David Onken

Senior Silver Division

70 – Stan Tankersley
76 – Chuck Thomas
76 – Greg Widman

Medal Play Golf Tour
Blane Freytag