Business Directory, Press Releases, Jobs, Products, Services, Articles
Businesses Articles Press Releases Follow @PRcom
Press Release Pricing | News by Category | News by Country | News by US Region | Recent News | News on Your Site

Press Releases

American Institute of Architects Detroit

Press Release

Receive press releases from American Institute of Architects Detroit: By Email RSS Feeds:

AIA Detroit Announces Honor Award Winners

Architect recipients include architects Victor A. Saroki, FAIA; William Dunn, Robert L. Ziegelman, FAIA; Cory C. Lavigne, AIA LEEDŽ AP; and Janice L. Suchan, AIA LEEDŽ AP. Firm recipients include SmithGroup, inFORM Studio, SHW Group, Albert Kahn Associates Inc., and Constantine George Pappas AIA Architecture/Planning.

Detroit, MI, November 20, 2010 --( The annual Celebration of Architecture for the Detroit Chapter of the American Institute of Architects will take place Friday at the School of Architecture Gallery at Lawrence Technological University.

Detroit Chapter President Ray Cekauskas, AIA, will recognize 10 design projects and five individuals for their contributions to architecture. Registration for the event begins at 6:30 p.m. in the Gallery. The cost is if $60 for nonmembers and $25 for students. Register online at or call 313-965-4100.

SmithGroup headlines the recipients. The downtown Detroit-based organizations became the first firm since the awards program was inaugurated in 1928 to earn six design awards from the chapter in the same year.

AIA Detroit’s highest honor, the Gold Medal, will be awarded to Birmingham architect Victor A. Saroki, FAIA, for his consistent high quality award winning designs for a variety of building types.

William Dunn, a longtime sponsor of the awards program and other AIA efforts who heads Dunn Blue Reprographics Technologies in Clawson, will be named as an Honorary Affiliate Member.

The Charles Blessing Award, created to honor the legendary Detroit City Planner, will be presented to Robert L. Ziegelman, FAIA, for his continuing influence on his home city, Birmingham, Michigan.

Cory C. Lavigne, AIA LEED® AP and Janice L. Suchan, AIA LEED® AP, will be honored as Young Architects of the Year, awarded to accomplished architects who have yet to reach the age of 40 years. Both recipients are from award-winning firms that earned design awards this year. Lavigne is a design architect with INFORM Studio in Northville. Suchan is a project architect and partner at SHW Group in Berkley.

Plaques also were awarded to the firms that created the work and to the building owners whose cooperation and understanding made creative solutions possible.

A panel of distinguished architects chaired by San Francisco architect Dan Winey, FAIA, LEED AP, Managing Principal, Northwest Region for Gensler, chose the winning buildings from among 46 anonymous entries:

inFORM Studio in Northville captured a plaque for:
Withers Swash District Plan (Myrtle Beach, SC)
Category: Urban Design
Owner: City of Myrtle Beach

SHW Group with offices in Berkley scored a winner for:
Richard J. Mazurek, MD Medical Education Commons (Detroit, MI)
Category: Urban Design
Owner: Wayne State University - School of Medicine
Contractor: Walbridge

Albert Kahn Associates Inc., with offices in the New Center Detroit, is recognized for the revitalization of the old General Motors Engineering and Design Center.
A. Alfred Taubman Center for Design Education (Detroit, MI)
Category: Building
Owner: College for Creative Studies
Contractor: Walbridge

Constantine George Pappas AIA Architecture/Planning created another award winning church out of their Royal Oak offices.
First Congregational Church Sanctuary Addition (Rochester, MI)
Category: Building
Owner: First Congregational Church Sanctuary Addition
Contractor: Frank Rewold and Sons, Inc.

SmithGroup Incorporated’s six winning entry include two in the unbuilt category, two interiors, one building category and one twenty-five year award.

West Virginia University Art Museum and Rare Book Room (Morgantown, WV)
Category: Unbuilt
Owner: West Virginia University

Cameron Memorial (Cameron, LA)
Category: Unbuilt
Owner: National Hurricane Museum and Science Center

Western Michigan University Frostic School of Visual Arts
Kohrman Hall Renovations (Kalamazoo, MI)
Category: Interior Architecture
Owner: Western Michigan University
Contractor: CSM Group

MI Michigan State University Owen Hall Renovations (East Lansing)
Category: Interior Architecture
Owner: Michigan State University
Contractor: Triangle Associates

Madonna University, Franciscan Center for Science and Media (Livonia, MI)
Category: Building
Owner: Madonna University
Contractor: Clark Construction

The Guardian Building (Detroit, MI)
Category: 25 Year
Owner: Wayne County
Contractor: Sachse Construction & Tooles Contracting Group

The American Institute of Architects Detroit, headed by Ray Cekauskas, AIA, of Birmingham, is a chapter of the 83,000-member national organization. The Detroit Chapter, desiring to encourage the appreciation of architecture and to foster a public consciousness and demand for better architecture, has created a system of Honor Awards. The mission of the Honor Awards program is two-fold: 1) to show the public “What Architects Do” and to inform about the value and importance of architectural excellence; and 2) to enable architects to better understand notable achievements so that excellence continues to be the standard. The Chapter held its first design competition in 1928. It was discontinued during the Depression and began again in the boom years after WWII.

The mission of AIA Detroit and AIA Michigan is to serve its membership, advance the values of the profession and improve the quality of the built environment. For more information on The American Institute of Architects Michigan and AIA Detroit, visit

Contact Information
American Institute of Architects Detroit
Mike Ingberg

Click here to view the list of recent Press Releases from American Institute of Architects Detroit
Promote Your Business