Medal Play Golf Tour Kicks Off Palm Springs Tour Under Windy Conditions

Indio, CA, January 12, 2011 --( The Medal Play Golf Tour visited the challenging Terra Lago North course this past Sunday, January 9th for their 2011 kick-off event. “Course conditions were very challenging today,” said tour director Blane Freytag, “The weather was chilly and the wind gusted at times. Factor in that we had a number of tour rookies playing their first event, the scores were a little on the high side.”

The Championship Division was led by tour veteran Jay Rein who posted a net 72 to repeat as Champion at Terra Lago. “I really like this course,” commented Rein after his round. Bob Pillow carded a nice net 78 to claim the Sr. Championship Division on his first attempt.

In the Sr. Gold Division, David Onken posted a net 79 to win by 4 shots over tour rookies Alan Forbes and Thomas Taylor. The Gold Division champion was Steve Challenger posting a net 86 to win by a shot over Edson Trejo.

Los Angeles tour member Yuri Pikover got an early start to his season by traveling over to Palm Springs and carding a net 74 for the Silver Division championship. Tour rookie Tom Goodwin was second with a net 79.

The round of the day belongs to tour veteran Chuck Thomas who posted a personal best net 63 to grab the Sr. Silver Division trophy. Tony Martinovich placed second with a net 70 while 2010 Tour Championship champion Stan Tankersley placed third with a net 73.

“I am so proud of Mr. Thomas and his improvement,” commented Freytag. “I look for him to continue to improve and possibly move up to the Sr. Gold Division by mid-season.”

Complete results are available at The Palm Springs tour returns to action at La Quinta – Dunes on February 13th. The Pete Dye design is on the 2011 Tour Championship rotation so it will give players an early look at the venue they will be playing in September.

Top Division Finishers (Net)

Championship Division

72 – Jay Rein
81 – Ed Tennison
86 – Chris Kruger

Gold Division

86 – Steve Challenger
87 – Edson Trejo

Silver Division

74 – Yuri Pikover
79 – Tom Goodwin

Sr. Championship Division

78 – Bob Pillow
86 – Thomas Vail

Sr. Gold Division

79 - David Onken
83 – Alan Forbes
83 – Thomas Taylor

Sr. Silver Division

63 – Chuck Thomas
70 – Tony Martinovich
73 – Stan Tankersley

Medal Play Golf Tour
Blane Freytag