NAPNAP Announces Recipients of 2011 Awards

Cherry Hill, NJ, April 08, 2011 --( The extraordinary contributions of pediatric nurse practitioners (PNPs) took center stage at the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP; 32nd Annual Conference on March 24, 2011, in Baltimore, MD. As in previous years, the organization honored nurses from the grassroots to the national level with scholarships, grants, and awards.

Over 1,200 pediatric nurses and other health care providers attended the NAPNAP conference, which was held at the Baltimore Convention Center. The awards ceremony was held on Thursday, March 24, 2011.

NAPNAP’s most prestigious honor, the Henry K. Silver Award was presented to Julie Novak, DNSc, RN, MA, CPNP, FAANP of San Antonio, TX. Named in honor of Dr. Henry K. Silver, pioneer and co-founder of the nurse practitioner role, this award is presented to an individual who has contributed to the expansion or improvement of pediatric health care and the advancement of the profession of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners at the national and/or international level. Candidates are nominated by peers and selected by a vote of NAPNAP’s Executive Board.

The 2011 President’s Award was given to the following NAPNAP Staff: Karen Kelly Thomas, CEO, PhD, RN, CAE, FAAN, Dolores Jones, EdD, RN, CPNP, CAE, Felicia K. Taylor, MBA, Cathy Van Horn, PHR, and Jennifer Knorr for outstanding service during President Jean Martin’s administration.

At the breakfast, the association’s leaders cited pediatric nurses and NAPNAP-affiliated groups for their exemplary service and practice innovations last year.

NAPNAP Chapter Awards

NAPNAP Chapter Growth Awards
* Florida, Georgia, Texas Greater
NAPNAP/Pfizer Outstanding Chapter Awards
* Small Chapter: PA: Three Rivers
* Large Chapter: NY: Greater
Chapter Philanthropic Award
* Small Chapter: Oregon Large Chapter: TX: Houston

NAPNAP Special Interest Group (SIG) Awards
SIG Philanthropic Award
* NAPNAP Childhood Literacy SIG
Outstanding SIG Award
* Breastfeeding Education SIG, Geraldine Fitzgerald, MSN, CPNP, Garret Park, MD Chair
* Kathleen Logan, MSN, CPNP, Co-Chair, Arlington, VA
Acute Care SIG Scholar Award
* Catherine Haut, MS, CPNP, Glen Burnie, MD

Breastfeeding Education SIG Award
* Kathleen Logan, MSN, CPNP, Arlington, VA

Immunization SIG Award
* Catherine Carrico, MSN, APRN-NP, Omaha, NE

School-Based Health Care SIG Award
* Nancy Munn, MSN, CPNP, Brookfield, CT

NAPNAP Poster Awards

Research Poster Award
* Abbey Alkon, PhD, CPNP, NAP SACC Intervention: Changes in Nutrition and Physical Activity in Child Care
Practice Innovations Poster Award
* Nancy Banasiak, MSN, APRN-BC, PNP , Readability of Asthma Web Sites
* Susan Beaird, MSN, RN, CPNP, Emergency Seizure Medications in the School Setting: An Educational Intervention Impacting School Nurse Knowledge and Beliefs
SIG Poster Award
* Pam Herendeen, DNP, PNP-BC, Child Maltreatment and Neglect SIG
Raise Your Right Hand – Court Testimony of Child Maltreatment

NAPNAP Writing Awards

2010 Ellen Rudy Clore Excellence in Research Writing Award
8 Virginia Sue Biddle, L. Kathleen Sekula, Rick Zoucha, Kathryn R. Puskar. Identification of Suicide Risk Among Rural Youth: Implications for the Use of HEADSS – May/June, 2010

2010 Leah Harrison Excellence in Clinical Writing Award
* Azza H. Ahmed, Role of the Pediatric Nurse Practitioner in Promoting Breastfeeding for Late Preterm Infants in Primary Care Settings – March/April, 2010

2010 Nelms Mullins Department Editor Award
* Donna Hallas, PhD, PNP-BC, CPNP, Levittown, NY

2011 Consumer Writing Award
* Anna Tielsch Goddard, MSN, CPNP, Garland, TX and Joe Don Cavender, MSN, CPNP, Midlothian, TX, What Would You Do? (How to prepare your family for a possible emergency event) - ReadySetGrow November 2010

NAPNAP Grant and Scholarship Winners

Allison Shuren Activist Award
Allison W. Shuren, JD, MSN, Chevy Chase, MD

Reckitt Benckiser Student Scholarship
* Chaka Batley, BSN, Keokuk IA
* Michelle Stephens, BSN, RN, Vienna, VA
* Jennifer Bevacqua, MSN, CPNP-AC/PC, Portland, OR

Foundation Research Grant (June 2010)
* Mariaelena Calhoun, BSN, MSN, Milwaukee, WI

Abbot Nutrition Student Educational Grant Recipients:
o Sarah Agtarap, Seattle, WA
o Laura Harvey, Jacksonville, FL
o Ashley Raynor, Indianapolis, IN
o Margaret Howarth, San Diego, CA
o Theresa Ruddy, Washington, DC
o April Bice, Knoxville, TN
o Lindsay Jamison, Jacksonville, FL
o Ashley Shields, Durham, NC
o Erin Broene, Grand Rapids, MI
o Nicole Jordan, Orlando, FL
o Cynthia Slaga, Haverhill, MA
o Nicole Sorensen, Stockton, CA
o Lauren Doppelheuer, Nashville, TN
o Rebecca Masters, Omaha, NE
o Amanda Springer, Knoxville, TN
o Amanda Kack Flannery, Chanhassen, MN
o Maud Meulstee, Hinckley, OH
o Amanda Thompson, Peoria, AZ
o Jennifer Jacobs, Durham, NC
o Jennifer Nordling, Sykesville, MD
o Kristen Woodard, Oak Park, IL
o Jessica Burnette, Knoxville, TN
o Kathryn Gray, Garland, TX
o Katherine Koruda, Brookline, MA
o Susannah Labbe, Clovis, CA

Association of Faculties of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners, Inc. (AFPNP)

AFPNP 2011 Outstanding Educator Award
* Patricia Jackson Allen, RN, MS, PNP-BC, FAAN, Woodbridge, CT

AFPNP 2011 Outstanding PNP Preceptor Award
* Mary Kathleen Kelly, MSN, CPNP-PC, Pittsburgh, PA

Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB) Acute Care (CPNP®) Certification Advocate Award
* Vicki S. Stringfellow, MSN, CPNP-AC, CPNP-PC, NNP-BC, Lexington, KY
Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB) Primary Care CPNP® Certification Advocate Award
* Jody K. Gurtler, APN, CPNP, White Heath, IL



NAPNAP is committed to improving the health care of infants, children, adolescents and young adults. An association of nearly 7,500 nurse practitioners throughout the United States, NAPNAP has 48 chapters nationwide. For more information, call 856-857-9700 or visit NAPNAP's Web site at

Contact: Felicia K. Taylor,; (856) 857-9700
National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners
Felicia K. Taylor