Business Directory, Press Releases, Jobs, Products, Services, Articles
Businesses Articles Press Releases Follow @PRcom
Press Release Pricing | News by Category | News by Country | News by US Region | Recent News | News on Your Site

Press Releases

The Grip Weeds

Press Release

Receive press releases from The Grip Weeds: By Email RSS Feeds:

The Grip Weeds Embrace Emerging New Music Business Models and Release Their Latest Album Strange Change Machine in the High Resolution Audio Format

By making Strange Change Machine HD available in 24 bit/96kHz digital audio, The Grip Weeds present their music in a format without compromise, direct from their website via digital download, to give fans a true high fidelity listening experience for the very first time.

New York, NY, April 14, 2011 --( With the release of Strange Change Machine HD in 24 bit/96kHz digital audio, Rainbow Quartz Recording Artists The Grip Weeds, add another format for the distribution of their most successful album to date direct from their website via digital download, to give fans a true high fidelity listening experience for the very first time. To mark the event, The Grip Weeds are hosting the HD release day party on April 16th at World Cafe Live in Philadelphia.

 The Grip Weeds are a critically-acclaimed Rock/Power Pop quartet consisting of brothers Kurt and Rick Reil (on vocals/drums and vocals/guitar respectively), Kristin Pinell (guitar) and Michael Kelly (bass), and their fifth studio album Strange Change Machine is a 24-song tour-de-force that sees the band perfecting their classic sound while also diving into uncharted musical territory. It was released last August by Rainbow Quartz International on CD, Vinyl and MP3. An eight-song free sample download is available at the Grip Weeds website. 
The lead single "Speed Of Life" quickly became the "Coolest Song in the World" on Little Steven's nationally syndicated Underground Garage radio and Sirius/XM satellite shows. Numerous tracks landed on New York's top-rated new music show Out of the Box on Q104.3 FM. Since the official release, the band is in rotation on 50 Triple A stations and expanding their worldwide fan base.

Strange Change Machine was recorded and mixed using analog tape and high-resolution digital converters. The analog mix was transferred to 24bit/96kHz digital and mastered at that resolution for the vinyl version of the album. The standard for CD's was set back in the 80's at a much lower 16bit/44.1kHz resolution. Kurt Reil, who engineers all of The Grip Weeds albums, states, “While we were very happy with the sound of the finished CD master, the high resolution vinyl master was basically what we heard in the studio at mixdown. We used this master to produce Strange Change Machine HD. For those out there without turntables, this is as close to analog as it gets!”

Standard MP3 downloads are compressed files and have limited sound quality. “The fidelity is not nearly as good as what you heard blasting out of huge speakers in college dorms all over America in the late '70s and '80s if you can remember back that far,” says Rick Reil, an audiophile himself, and adds, “if you can’t, it was a time when high fidelity actually meant what it implies – awesome sounding music. Strange Change Machine HD sounds better than a CD and is vastly superior to an mp3. It’s the closest you can get to our original vision and sound.”

With Strange Change Machine HD, The Grip Weeds present their music in a format without compromise.

Qualified members of the press wishing to review Strange Change Machine HD may request a complimentary download code and/or interviews with The Grip Weeds through Eli Ransford (

Strange Change Machine HD Release Party
Saturday, April 16th at 10pm
World Cafe Live (Upstairs)
3025 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA, 19104

The Grip Weeds will perform a full show focusing on songs from the new release.

Strange Change Machine HD
1. Speed Of Life (3:51)
2. Close To The Sun (4:26)
3. Don’t You Believe It (3:11)
4. Be Here Now (3:16)
5. You’re Not Walking Away (4:01)
6. Thing Of Beauty (4:13)
7. Sun Shower (3:54)
8. Strange Change Machine (2:39)
9. Twister (1:54)
10. Sun Ra Ga (Pt. One) (1:16)
11. What Can I Do (3:58)
12. Green Room Interlude (:47)
13. Mistress Forest (4:13)
14. Coming And Going (4:19)
15. The Law (4:43)
16. Hello It’s Me (3:41)
17. Truth Is (Hard To Take) (3:03)
18. Nothing’s Ever Gonna Be The Same (4:31)
19. Hold Out For Tomorrow (3:51)
20. Long Way (To Come Around) (3:29)
21. Love In Transition (4:01)
22. Used To Play (3:47)
23. Sun Ra Ga (Pt. Two) (2:02)
24. Mr. X (3:44)

Produced and Arranged by The Grip Weeds at House Of Vibes Productions, Highland Park, NJ.

Assorted Press for Strange Change Machine

“Brothers Kurt and Rick Reil draw on everyone's favourite 1960s psyche pop bands on their generous double-CD... the final tracks refocus the Weed’s apparently undiminished powers... Three Stars.” -London Sunday Times

"A double studio album in 2010 certainly conjures up images from a different time in music... The Grip Weeds make a strong case for its continued existence with "Strange Change Machine." -Goldmine (Goldmine’s Pick of The Summer)

"What is a surprise though, is how fresh The Grip Weeds sound today despite its many 60s and 70s era influences... The Grip Weeds have produced one fine piece of work here..." -Skope Magazine

“An Eclectic treasure box filled with pop sensibilities and arabesque journeys through style... this is definitely one of the smartest, most varied records I’ve heard all year." -Aquarian

Contact Information
The Grip Weeds
Eli Ransford
(732) 754-1956

Click here to view the list of recent Press Releases from The Grip Weeds
Promote Your Business