Stevens Convocation 2011 Celebrates Students and Faculty

Faculty and students award citations from Stevens Convocation, September 7, 2011.

Hoboken, NJ, September 10, 2011 --( Convocation at Stevens Institute of Technology opens the new school year by welcoming an incoming undergraduate class and honoring successes within the Stevens community over the course of the previous academic year. On September 7, 2011, President Nariman Farvardin and Provost and University Vice President George Korfiatis presented awards to a number of Stevens students and faculty for their distinguishing achievements in scholarship, athletics, teaching, and entrepreneurship.

Full award citations may be found at:

Stevens honored Dr. Alan Blumberg, George Meade Bond Professor and Director of the Center for Maritime Systems, with an honorary Master of Engineering degree. Dr. Blumberg is one of the world’s foremost experts in ocean dynamics and oversees important ocean observation and research programs that provide critical, life-saving information to public safety officials, transportation professionals, and members of the public regarding water conditions in the busy New York Harbor. Dr. Blumberg has appeared on many television programs to discuss monitoring and preventing damage from storms, and has consulted with UNESCO and US government agencies on maritime domain awareness and climate change.

In recognition of their influential research publication, Dr. Svetlana Sukhishvili and Dr. Henry Du received the Jess Davis Memorial Award for Research Excellence. Their paper, "Towards Full-Length Accumulative Surface-Enhanced Raman Scattering-Active Photonic Crystal Fibers," published in Advanced Materials, resulted in a major advancement in photonic crystal fiber sensor development. This high-profile research has led to the honor of interdisciplinary research activities with primary funding from the National Science Foundation and supplemental support from US Army ARDEC.

Teaching awards at Stevens recognize not only exceptional teaching ability, but also faculty that cultivate a close-knit community on Castle Point and demonstrate influence on students both in and out of the classroom. Dr. Ronald Besser and Dr. Peerasit Patanakul received Harvey N. Davis Distinguished Teaching awards. Steven Gabarro received the Provost’s Award for Excellence in On-Line Teaching. The Meritorious Teaching in a Laboratory Section award went to Norapath Pesirikan.

Lastly, Dr. Kishore Pochiraju was presented the Provost’s Award for Academic Entrepreneurship & Enterprise Development. As founder of CADeyes, an advanced mobile mapping system for creating dimensioned site and contour maps, and “as-built drawings” of both exterior and interior of building structures, Dr. Pochiraju has successfully translated research to a commercial application. He was recognized for his vision for innovation, providing research and entrepreneurial experience to students, and supporting an environment of academic entrepreneurship at the University.

The student awards were: Martha L. Kattwinkel Award, Juliette Turalski; Colonel Basil M. Stevens Award, Armand Reyes; Ada and Edwin "Doc" Farrell Memorial Award, Richard Sanchez; Ondrick Scholarship, Donna Barden and William Stackpole; Stute-Humanities Underclassman Award, Emily Rautenberg; Gustav G. Freygang Award, Mason Compton; President's Award for Community Involvement, Kendra Appleheimer; Gear and Triangle Award, Emily Hromada and Angela LoPiccolo; Hans J. Lang Award for Excellence in Cost Engineering and Engineering Economics, Richard De Los Reyes; CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award, Daniel S. McLaughlin; Virgina & Kevin Ruesterholz Award, Joseph Manfredonia; Robert H. Seavy Award, Nicole Portner and John Ziegler; Charles L. Petchek Scholarship, Alaina Spicer; Tau Beta Pi’s Freshman Engineer Award, Dylan D. Hutchison; Panhellenic Council Academic Excellence Award, Delta Phi Epsilon; Interfraternity Academic Excellence Award, Sigma Phi Epsilon; Stevens' Scholarship for Service Program, Ken Bodzak; President’s Cup, Women’s Swim Team.

About Stevens Institute of Technology
Founded in 1870, Stevens Institute of Technology, The Innovation University (TM), lives at the intersection of industry, academics and research. The University's students, faculty and partners leverage their collective real-world experience and culture of innovation, research and entrepreneurship to confront global challenges in engineering, science, systems and technology management.

Based in Hoboken, N.J. and with a location in Washington, D.C., Stevens offers undergraduate and graduate degrees in engineering, the sciences, management, and liberal arts. Stevens has been recognized by both the US Department of Defense and the Department of Homeland Security as a National Center of Excellence in the areas of systems engineering and port security research. The University has a total enrollment of more than 2,350 undergraduate and 3,600 graduate students with almost 450 faculty. Stevens graduate programs have attracted international participation from China, India, Southeast Asia, Europe and Latin America as well as strategic partnerships with industry leaders, governments and other universities around the world. Additional information may be obtained at

Stevens Institute of Technology
Christine del Rosario