Montreal : New CD "Stained Glass" from Jazz Pianist Geoff Lapp

The Geoff Lapp Trio has been a cornerstone of the Montreal jazz scene since 1999. Extended gigs at many of the town's premiere night spots have established the group as a hot draw for aficionados in search of that heady space where soulful and cerebral fuse. Drawing upon a wide palette of jazz moods, 'The Geoff Lapp Trio' delivers a sound that is tasteful, innovative, and infectiously swinging.

Montreal, Canada, April 08, 2007 --( Elephant Records is pleased to announce the release of The Geoff Lapp Trio’s newest recording, 'Stained Glass'. With a mix of freshly-interpreted standards and all-new originals, the disc offers a sparkling assortment of tunes from three of Montreal’s most respected jazzmen.

Many devotees of contemporary jazz will recognize Geoff Lapp’s piano stylings through his work with artists such as Slide Hampton, Rainee Lee, Stephanie Biddle and Paquito d’Rivera. For jazz fans in Montreal, however, the Geoff Lapp Trio is a landmark in its own right. Having played extended gigs at many of the town's premiere night spots since 1999, this is the group aficionados seek out for that heady space where soulful and cerebral fuse -- the alembic of great jazz moments.

On 'Stained Glass', we find Lapp in characteristic form – tastefully articulate and harmonically innovative – and embarking on melodic explorations that take full advantage of the uninhibited freedoms offered by the trio format. The disc features 5 original compositions which range from the bright and capricious “Sunny Rays” to the bluesy “Kathy’s Waltz” to the textured complexity of “Theme for Margaret”. Five standards are also included, with ballads such as “Elsa” and “Day Dream” setting off the more upbeat swing tunes like “Sweet Lorraine” and “The Party’s Over”.

“He’s one of the city’s finest pianists, and anyone who has frequented any of the city’s jazz club’s knows Geoff Lapp is synonymous with quality musicianship, taste and flexibility.”
-- Montreal Gazette

The Geoff Lapp Trio is:
Geoff Lapp (piano), Paul Johnston (bass), and Dave Laing (drums)

'Stained Glass' track listing:
"Sunny Rays" (G. Lapp)
"Elsa" (Earl Zindars)
"With A Song In My Heart" (Rogers & Hart)
"Day Dream" (B. Strayhorn)
"Kathy’s Waltz" (G. Lapp)
"Yo Bro" (G. Lapp)
"Theme For Margaret" (G. Lapp)
"Zack In The Box" (G. Lapp)
"The Party’s Over" (J. Styne)
"Sweet Lorraine" (M. Parish & C. Burwell)

'Stained Glass' is produced by Geoff Lapp and Paul Johnston and will be available at most music retailers from November 18, 2006.

For more information, please contact:
Marie-Andrée Desjardins 514—272-5009

Elephant Records, Media

For press materials online, please visit:

The Geoff Lapp Trio
Lorraine Craig
Elephant Records