Business Directory, Press Releases, Jobs, Products, Services, Articles
Businesses Articles Press Releases Follow @PRcom
Press Release Pricing | News by Category | News by Country | News by US Region | Recent News | News on Your Site

Press Releases


Press Release

Receive press releases from FieldTurf: By Email RSS Feeds:

FieldTurf Announces 2011 Coach and Team of the Year Soccer Awards

Award-winners announced at the 2012 NSCAA Convention in Kansas City.

Kansas City, MO, January 16, 2012 --( FieldTurf announced the winners of its 6th annual FieldTurf Soccer Awards for the 2011 season at the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Convention in Kansas City. Winners were announced in 30 different categories.

This year’s winners are:

MLS Coach of the Year – Peter Vermes, Sporting KC
The wait to enter Major League Soccer’s newest stadium was worth it for Vermes. Sporting KC played its first 10 games on the road (winning only once) before christening their new $200 million, state-of-the-art stadium. Once in the new digs, Vermes led Sporting KC on a tear, earning points in 21 of the season’s final 24 games and finishing atop the Eastern Conference. While Sporting KC bowed out to finalist Houston in the semifinals of the playoffs, this former US National Team captain has the Sporting fans and players believing greats things are on the horizon.

WPS Coach of the Year – Aaran Lines, Western New York Flash
Lines won his second consecutive FT coach of the year award after leading the Flash to back to back Championships. Last year he led the undefeated Buffalo Flash to the W-League championship and this year he finished the season 14-2-3 as Regular Season Champions and WPS Champions.

NASL (Division II) Coach of the Year – Manny Lagos, NSC Minnesota
The Lagos-led NSC Minnesota made the most of its sixth-place seeding into the playoffs by running the table and capturing its second 2nd division league title. Minnesota defeated the regular season champion Carolina Railhawks 3-1 on aggregate in the final.

USL (Division III) Coach of the Year – Adrian Heath, Orlando City
Heath shaped the league’s most stingiest defense, one that surrendered just 16 goals in 24 games, en route to it first ever USL Division III championship by defeating the Harrisburg City Islanders 3-2 in a penalty kick shootout. Orlando City posted a 15-3-6 record giving Heath the best record in the 12-team league.

USL W-League Coach of the Year – Chris Adams, Atlanta Silverbacks
The Atlanta Silverbacks trounced the Ottawa Fury 6-1 in the final to capture its first W-League title in team history. Adams’ capped off the season seeing his team surrender just seven goals in 12 games.

NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Men’s Soccer) – Jeremy Gunn, UNC Charlotte
Jeremy Gunn led UNC Charlotte to its first final four appearance only to see his side lose in the final to in-state rival UNC 1-0. Gunn’s team captured the hearts of students by breaking its season attendance record. The student government even approve a $9,000 expense to bus students to the final in Hoover, Ala.

NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Women’s Soccer) – Robbie Church, Duke
Church led Duke to the ACC regular-season championship and the final of the NCAA Division I Tournament with a starting lineup comprised entirely of underclassmen, Church led the Blue Devils to an overall record of 22-4-1. The 22 wins were a school record.

MLS Team of the Year – LA Galaxy
The Galaxy, led by international stars David Beckham, Landon Donovan and Robbie Keane, pieced together one of the most successful seasons in MLS history by winning the double – the regular season championship and the MLS Cup. The team's 19 wins, 67 points and 28 goals allowed rank among the best ever for a club in a single season.

WPS Team of the Year – Western New York Flash
En route to the double, the Flash scored the league’s most goals (40) and surrendered the least (18). They were led by some of the world’s most dominant players including Brazil’s Marta, Canada’s Christine Sinclair and USA’s Alex Morgan..

NCAA Team of the Year – Stanford University
The third time was a charm for the Cardinal. Stanford capped an unbeaten campaign with a 1-0 victory over Duke to capture its first NCAA Division I title. The previous two seasons Stanford posted unbeaten seasons going into the final but lost both times. With a 95-4-4 record in the past four seasons they are the most dominant team – men’s or women’s -- in college soccer.

The FieldTurf Coach of the Year Awards recognize a coach’s dedication and hard work both on and off the field. The coaches that have been and will be selected for this award all exemplify outstanding leadership skills and enjoy well-deserved success. Special attention is given to coaches who are able to significantly improve their team’s effort, performance, and overall record from previous years along with coaches who enjoy success with young and inexperienced teams.

The FieldTurf Team of the Year Awards acknowledge teams at all levels of sport that show a passion for the game along with dedication to team play. The teams that will be selected for this award will be teams that have enjoyed success and/or made considerable improvements from previous years within their respective leagues.

Contact Information
Jason Smollett

Click here to view the list of recent Press Releases from FieldTurf
Promote Your Business