Announcing the ForeWord Firsts Winter 2012 Title Finalists

ForeWord Firsts is designed to recognize and give self-published and small press first-fiction titles an extra sales boost, and help us validate to the trade this important segment of the industry. Here are the finalists for the Winter 2012 Title Release contest.

Traverse City, MI, April 21, 2012 --( The ForeWord Firsts Winter 2012 shortlist was announced today. The new quarterly competition recognizes the brightest self-published and independently published works of debut fiction.

“We are seeing many more high quality first-fiction titles,” said ForeWord Reviews Publisher Victoria Sutherland of the selection of winter releases submitted. “It’s been a reading adventure—from historical whodunnits to rogue operatives with their own secrets to hide. I’ve really enjoyed discovering some new author names and know that many of them will continue to write compelling books for years to come.”

First fiction titles, published between January-March of 2012, were eligible for judging. ForeWord’s panel of editors reviewed the selection of submitted titles and named the following finalists:
*Cooper’s Promise by Timothy Jay Smith (iUniverse, 978-1-4620-8408-1)
*A Deadly Affection by Cuyler Overholt (Copper Bottom Press, 978-0-9848413-0-1)
*The Duke Don’t Dance by Richard Sharp (CreateSpace, 978-1-4679-4916-3)
*Mrs. Tuesday’s Departure by Suzanne Anderson (CreateSpace, 978-1-4681-7054-2)
*Violence by Timothy McDougall (eBook, Amazon Digital Services)

The Winter 2012 Title Winner will be announced April 30.

Read more about ForeWord Firsts.

Entries for Spring books published April through June 30, 2012, will be accepted through July 10, 2012, with the top titles announced July 30, 2012.
ForeWord Reviews
Kimber Bilby