Texas Book Festival Author Lineup Announced by First Lady Laura Bush

Cheryl Strayed, Tony Danza, Robert Caro, Jewel headline event Oct. 27-28 at the State Capitol.

Dallas, TX, September 16, 2012 --(PR.com)-- First Lady Laura Bush announced the author lineup for the 2012 Texas Book Festival at her home in Dallas today, at an event for Festival supporters. Bush is founder of the Festival, now in its 17th year and one of the nation’s premier literary events.

The vibrant lineup of more than 250 authors includes Cheryl Strayed, Tony Danza, Robert Caro, Junot Díaz, Jewel, Jeffrey Toobin, Zane, Tim O’Brien, Justin Cronin, and David Maraniss.

Headlining authors also include Naomi Wolf, Chris Elliott, Stephen Tobolowsky, Bob Balaban, Attica Locke, Damien Echols, Marcia Clark, and Mark Danielewski. News and political junkies can hear from Robert Draper, Kurt Eichenwald, Simon Sebag Montefiore, Rachel L. Swarns, and David Westin. The author lineup is available online at www.texasbookfestival.org.

Mrs. Bush also unveiled this year’s Festival poster, by nationally recognized Texas artist Margie Crisp. Crisp lives and works in Elgin, and is the author of River of Contrasts: The Texas Colorado, which is part of this year’s Festival.

On October 27 and 28, an anticipated crowd of more than 40,000 guests will enjoy the free festivities in and around the Texas State Capitol, including engaging panel conversations with the industry’s top writers, book signings, live music, cooking demonstrations, and children’s authors, events, and activities.

“Texas Book Festival remains a free event thanks to generous sponsors and donors, and to our 1,000 volunteers,” says Executive Director Lidia Agraz. “Volunteers are truly the soul of the Festival, doing everything from helping to select the books, to escorting the authors, to managing book signings, to planning children’s activities, and myriad other logistics that it takes to ensure that 40,000 people have a tremendous experience throughout the Festival weekend.”

A new feature of the Festival this year is expanded membership levels, with numerous benefits at each level. One of the most popular membership benefits for Festival fans at the $100 Friend level and above is the Fast Pass. The Fast Pass allows Festival-goers to avoid long lines by giving immediate access to popular author sessions and signings, in addition to other perks. All contributions are tax-deductible. See more details and sign up for membership at www.texasbookfestival.org.

In its 17-year history, the Festival has connected readers with the nation’s most accomplished writers, contributed more than $2.5 million to Texas public libraries, and reached more than 40,000 children in economically disadvantaged Central and South Texas schools, providing many with the first book of their own.

This year's list of 250 writers who will appear at the Festival reflect the best books that American publishers are offering in 2012, ranging from literary fiction to lifestyle titles such as travel and cookbooks.

About Texas Book Festival

The Texas Book Festival is a nonprofit organization that celebrates authors and their contributions to the culture of literacy, ideas, and imagination. Founded in 1995 by Laura Bush and a group of volunteers, the annual Festival is held on the grounds of the Texas Capitol. The Festival features readings and discussions from more than 250 renowned Texas and national authors, entertaining and informing more than 40,000 adults and children alike. Thanks to the Festival’s 1,000 volunteers, the event remains free. TBF supports Texas public libraries and literacy through its Library Grants and Reading Rock Stars programs, and also hosts year-round events across the state. Texas Book Festival members receive invitations to exclusive author events, priority seating, the latest literary news, and more. Visit www.texasbookfestival.org for more information.
Texas Book Festival
Brenda Thompson