Clearwater, FL, April 25, 2013 --(PR.com
)-- On Tues., April 16, 2013, the Florida Senate approved a ban on texting while driving. The law makes texting a “secondary violation,” which means if a police officer cites a driver for another offense, the offender can also be cited for texting.
“It’s a real epidemic. This needs to stop,” said Republican Senator, Nancy Detert, the main proponent of the Florida texting and driving bill.
In 2011, 1.3 million car accidents are caused by drivers texting as stated by the National Safety Council (NSC). According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Association (NHTSA), if a driver is texting and driving at 55 mph, he or she could travel the distance of a football field without looking at the road.
If caught texting while driving, the fine will be $30 for the first offense. If there is an additional offense over the following 5 years, the fine doubles and 3 points would be added to the driver’s license. If a driver has 12 points against his or her license, they would face a 30-day license suspension.
“I stand behind the Florida Senate’s decision to ban texting while driving. Cell phone use while behind the wheel has become a serious public safety concern in Florida as in the rest of the country. Cell phone use and texting and driving are a greater danger than drinking and driving and it needs to stop. This is about saving lives,” said Jim Dodson, a safety advocate and Florida attorney.
Drivers are still permitted to text while at red lights or stopped. For any questions about the new cell phone legislation, please call Jim Dodson Law at (727) 446-0840.