Business Directory, Press Releases, Jobs, Products, Services, Articles
Businesses Articles Press Releases Follow @PRcom
Press Release Pricing | News by Category | News by Country | News by US Region | Recent News | News on Your Site

Press Releases


Press Release

Receive press releases from FieldTurf: By Email RSS Feeds:

FieldTurf Announces 2013 Baseball Award Winners

Dallas, TX, January 04, 2014 --( FieldTurf announced the winners of the 8th annual FieldTurf Baseball Awards for 2013 today. Award-winners were named in four categories, including two NCAA Coach of the Year winners, one NCAA Team of the Year winner, and the MLB Team of the Year.

This year’s winners are:

- MLB Team of the Year – Boston Red Sox
- NCAA Division I Coach of the Year – Brian O’Connor, University of Virginia
- NCAA Division II Coach of the Year – Joe Urso, University of Tampa
- NCAA Team of the Year – University of Louisville

Boston Red Sox (MLB Team of the Year) - Finishing with a record of 97 wins and 65 losses, 2013 marked the first season since 2007 in which the Red Sox won the American League East. The team won 28 more games in 2013 than in 2012. They defeated the Tampa Bay Rays in the Division Series and defeated the Detroit Tigers in the ALCS to advance to their first World Series since 2007 and their third in nine years. The Red Sox beat the St. Louis Cardinals in 6 games to win the 2013 World Series. Boston is only the second team to win the World Series a year after they finished last in their Division.

Brian O’Connor (University of Virginia) – Brian O’Connor has established himself as one of the premier coaches in NCAA baseball – and his team’s performances continue to reflect his leadership. The ’13 Cavs won 50 games for the third time in program history, advanced to the NCAA Tournament for a 10th straight year, hosted a Regional for the seventh time in the last decade and made a Super Regional for the fourth time in five years. The Cavs were ranked in the Top 5 by Baseball America, NCBWA, and RPI.

Joe Urso (University of Tampa) – Ranked #1 by Collegiate Baseball with a 43-11 record, and taking home a 2013 NCAA baseball championship with a decisive victory of 8-2 over the second-ranked Minnesota State Mavericks, Joe Urso’s team had a dream 2013 season. The former Spartan all-American is UT’s all-time winningest baseball coach, having led the Spartans to 40+ victories in almost every season at the helm.

University of Louisville (NCAA Team of the Year) - Six years after making its College World Series debut, the Louisville baseball program returned to Omaha in 2013 closing a record-setting season for the Cardinals. Along with the return to the pinnacle of college baseball, UofL won a school record 51 games and clinched its fourth BIG EAST Conference regular season championship in the last five seasons.

About the FieldTurf Award Series

The FieldTurf Coach of the Year Awards recognize a coach’s dedication and hard work both on and off the field. The coaches that have been and will be selected for this award all exemplify outstanding leadership skills and enjoy well-deserved success. Special attention is given to coaches who are able to significantly improve their team’s effort, performance, and overall record from previous years along with coaches who enjoy success with young and inexperienced teams.

The FieldTurf Team of the Year Awards acknowledge teams at all levels of sport that show a passion for the game along with dedication to team play. The teams that will be selected for this award will be teams that have enjoyed success and/or made considerable improvements from previous years within their respective leagues.
Contact Information
Jason Smollett

Click here to view the list of recent Press Releases from FieldTurf
Promote Your Business