Business Directory, Press Releases, Jobs, Products, Services, Articles
Businesses Articles Press Releases Follow @PRcom
Press Release Pricing | News by Category | News by Country | News by US Region | Recent News | News on Your Site

Press Releases

NGA Pro Golf Tour

Press Release

Receive press releases from NGA Pro Golf Tour: By Email RSS Feeds:

2001 NGA Tour Player of the Year Zach Johnson Starts New Year Right with Hyundai Tournament of Champions Win

Maui, HI, January 10, 2014 --( 2001 NGA Tour Player of the Year Zach Johnson started 2014 off on the right foot by grabbing the first PGA Tour win of the year at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions in Maui, Hawaii. Johnson qualified to play in the event by way of his victory at the BMW Championship back in September. And, while the win was his first of the new year, this was Johnson's second win of the newly remodeled schedule and second in the last three events on golf's top tour.

The event, held Friday January 3rd through Monday January 6th on the prestigious Plantation Course at Kapalua, has a limited field made up only of the champions from this past season on golf's premier tour. Fellow NGA Tour alums in the event who qualified into the event via wins on golf's top tour included 2010 NGA Tour Player of the Year Michael Thompson (Honda Classic), Kevin Streelman (Tampa Bay Championship), Brian Gay (Humana Challenge), Chris Kirk (McGladrey Classic), Ken Duke (Travelers Championship), Scott Brown (Puerto Rico Open), Boo Weekley (Crowne Plaza Invitational), John Merrick (Northern Trust Open), Russell Henley (Sony Open, the first full field event of the 2013 season), and Gary Woodland (Reno-Tahoe Open, an event which has granted the NGA Tour an exemption the past two years).

Johnson, who earned the nickname back to back to back Zach during his time on the NGA Tour for winning 3 consecutive events in 2001, shot rounds of 67-66-74-66 for the win. He held the lead after the second round but found himself in 4th after his third round 74 and 2 shots back of the lead held by 2013 Rookie of the Year Jordan Spieth. On the final day Johnson fired his 2nd 66 of the tournament, enough to overcome the deficit and post a one stroke victory over Spieth who shot 69 the final day.

NGA Tour alum Kevin Streelman, who played on the NGA from 2005 to 2007, shot rounds of 67-71-70-67 to finish in a tie for 3rd with Webb Simpson. Fellow NGA Tour alums Brian Gay and Gary Woodland T13, Michael Thompson, Chris Kirk, and Ken Duke T16, Scott Brown T24, Boo Weekley 26th, Russell Henley 27th, and John Merrick T28.

The NGA Tour is the #3 Men's Professional Golf Tour in the US and the #1 developmental tour in golf, recommended by more of golf's top touring professionals than any other developmental tour. NGA Tour alums have won an amazing 15 "Major" Championships. NGA Tour alumni include such as Keegan Bradley, Zach Johnson, Bubba Watson, Stewart Cink, David Toms, Jim Furyk, Tom Lehman, and John Daly just to name a few. For more information about the National Golf Association or the NGA Pro Golf Tour please visit or call the tour offices at 800-992-8748.
Contact Information
NGA Pro Golf Tour
Ryan Waters
NGA Tour Offices

Click here to view the list of recent Press Releases from NGA Pro Golf Tour
Promote Your Business