Author Owen Thomas and OTF Literary Releases New Literary Fiction Novel – "The Lion Trees"

Author, Owen Thomas and OTF Literary are pleased to announce the release of the new literary fiction novel, "The Lion Trees." Just released in August 2014, the book is already receiving rave reviews.

Anchorage, AK, September 07, 2014 --( What happens when you get the life you aim for and it hurts like hell?

The Johns family is unraveling. Hollis, a retired Ohio banker, isolates himself in esoteric hobbies and a dangerous flirtation with a colleague’s daughter. Susan, his wife of forty years, risks everything for a second chance at who she might have become. David, their eldest, thrashes to stay afloat as his teaching career capsizes in a storm of accusations involving a missing student and the legacy of Christopher Columbus. And young Tilly, the black sheep, having traded literary promise for an improbable career as a Hollywood starlet, struggles to define herself amid salacious scandal, the demands of a powerful director, and the judgments of an uncompromising writer.

By turns comical and poignant, the Johns family is tumbling toward the discovery that sometimes you have to let go of your identity to find out who you are.

Recent Praise for The Lion Trees:
“[A] cerebral page turner…a powerful and promising debut.”—Kirkus Reviews

“[Four Stars]… In its structure and nature, [The Lion Trees] reminds me above all of John Updike’s wonderful Harry Rabbit novels and their ability to summarize the essence of change in American society across a decade at a time.” –

“[Five Stars]… [A] powerful, gripping and realistic story…Wonderful... The Lion Trees does what so very few great novels can: it will take a lot out of you, but leave you with much more than you had when you began.”—Pacific Book Reviews.

Book Details:
The Lion Trees
By Owen Thomas
Publisher: OTF Literary
Published: August 2014
Part One: Unraveling
ISBN: 978-0692235904
Part Two: Awakening
ISBN: 978-0692248379
Genre: Literary Fiction

About The Author:
Owen Thomas lives and writes in Anchorage, Alaska. His novel “The Lion Trees” is available in paper and electrons at Amazon and Barnes & Noble. He is also the author of a collection of short stories and novellas entitled “Signs of Passing: Letters from Winchester County” winner of the 2014 Pacific Book Awards for short fiction. His story “Everything Stops” is being published in September 2014 by Fiction Attic Press as part of an anthology of short fiction called “Modern Shorts” and is available on Amazon. He maintains an active fiction and photography blog at Owen has come to understand that there is a strange disquiet in referring to oneself in the third person. He is seriously afraid he will not be able to stop.

For review copies, author interviews, or more information please contact:

Owen Thomas
Owen Thomas