PR.com: Business Directory, Press Releases, Jobs, Products, Services, Articles
 
Businesses Articles Press Releases Follow @PRcom
Press Release Pricing | News by Category | News by Country | News by US Region | Recent News | PR.com News on Your Site
 

Press Releases

 
DML Research Hub

Press Release


Receive press releases from DML Research Hub: By Email RSS Feeds:

Connected Courses Webinars Focus on Implementation


Irvine, CA, December 01, 2014 --(PR.com)-- Implementing an open college course will be the focus of the final “Connected Courses” webinars, taking place Dec. 1 and 5.

Connected Courses is a free online class being taught by open-learning pioneers who developed the curriculum for fellow college and university professors to learn to teach their own open courses. It launched in September and runs through Dec. 14.

When/Where/Who:

Monday, Dec. 1, 2 p.m. PST/4 p.m. CST/5 p.m. EST, at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lp9EY4MqVLw

Jim Groom, director of the Division of Teaching and Learning Technologies at the University of Mary Washington, Jaimie Hoffman, an adjunct faculty member at several Southern California universities, Kim Jaxon, assistant professor of English at Chico State, and two of Jaxon’s graduate students, Danielle Astengo and Jeremy Wallace, will discuss various approaches to building connected class infrastructure for individual assignments, or for an entire course. They will showcase various sites faculty and graduate students have created over the semester in the hopes of inspiring others to create their own connected course hub.

Friday, Dec. 5, 9 a.m. PST/11 a.m. CST/Noon EST at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nzq64Yatt7I

Groom, Ben Werdmüller, CEO and co-founder at Known, Erin Jo Richey, CXO and co-founder at Known, and Simon Thompson, UK educational practitioner, will explore the IndieWeb movement as “a people-centered response to the corporate web.” They will answer the question: How do the core IndieWeb principles of owning your content, remaining better connected, and putting you in control intersect with values of connected learning?

Viewers are encouraged to post questions and comments during the live webinars via Twitter using the hashtag, #CCourses.

In addition, Alan Levine, technology consultant, is hosting “The Blog Talk Garage,” where he, Groom and Howard Rheingold, educator and author of several books on technology and education, are answering technical questions for educators who need help executing their open courses.

Groom, Hoffman, Lisa M. Lane, director of MiraCosta College’s Program for Online Teaching,Jaime Hannans, assistant professor of nursing at Cal State Channel Islands, and educational technology consultants Mikhail Gershovich and Levineare teaching the final unit — “Putting it into Practice” — of the six-unit Connected Courses class.

More Information:
Connected Courses is a free online course. It is supported by the University of CaliforniaHumanities Research Institute, Digital Media and Learning Research Hub and MacArthur Foundation. For lessons, instructor bios and more details, visit connectedcourses.net.

Media Contact:
Mimi Ko Cruz, mcruz@hri.uci.edu, 949-824-4587

http://dmlhub.net/newsroom/media-releases/connected-courses-webinars-focus-implementation
Contact Information
DML Research Hub
Mimi Ko Cruz
949-824-4587
Contact
dmlhub.net
DML Research Hub is part of the University of California Humanities Research Institute.

Click here to view the list of recent Press Releases from DML Research Hub
Promote Your Business