Now in Print & eBook: "To Suffer a Witch" by California Author Christopher Treagus

Barking Rain Press announced the paperback and eBook release of "To Suffer a Witch," the first book in the paranormal dark fantasy trilogy "The Blackthorne Chronicles," by Santa Rosa, California, author Christopher Treagus.

Vancouver, WA, February 17, 2015 --( Barking Rain Press, a non-profit fiction publisher, announced the paperback and eBook release of “To Suffer a Witch,” Book 1 of the paranormal dark fantasy trilogy “The Blackthorne Chronicles,” by Santa Rosa, California, author Christopher Treagus. Barking Rain Press also published Mr. Treagus's Jack the Ripper thriller, “In the Autumn of the Unfortunates,” as well as his chupacabra horror novel, “Building a Better Monster.”

The Blackthorne Chronicles tells the story of the Salem witch trials through the eyes of Jacob Blackthorne, who falls under the thrall of one of the witches. It is 1692 and a plague of witches and dark magic has descended upon the village of Salem. When a court of Oyer and Terminer is called by the governor to bring the guilty to trial, Judge Jacob Blackthorne and the Reverend Cotton Mather are tasked with discovering the cause for all of this evil. The trouble is, Jacob Blackthorne is part of the problem. Fifteen years ago, he was seduced by a witch named Abigail Colman. One night in the woods outside of Salem Village, she shared her secret with him: the power of the Sangreal—a magical elixir that forestalls the natural process of death… for a price. Now cursed with near-eternal youth and the loss of his soul, Jacob prays that he can yet find a path to salvation. Instead, he uncovers a conspiracy dating back to Biblical times.

Ask for “To Suffer A Witch: The Blackthorne Chronicles, Book 1” at your favorite bookstore, or buy it online at the Barking Rain Press website,, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-Million, Powells, Waterstones, and many other Internet bookstores. It is also available as an eBook through Amazon Kindle, Barnes & Noble Nook, iTunes iBooks, Kobo, Content Reserve/Overdrive, the Barking Rain Press website and many other outlets worldwide.

Interested readers can preview the first four chapters of “To Suffer a Witch” for free by visiting the Barking Rain Press website at

"To Suffer a Witch The Blackthorne Chronicles, Book 1"
BISAC Genre Codes:
FIC009050 — Fiction / Fantasy / Paranormal
FIC009070 — Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
FIC024000 — Fiction / Occult & Supernatural

BIC Genre Codes:
FM — Fantasy
FK — Horror & Ghost Stories

LCCN: 2014946370

Trade Paperback (228 pp)
ISBN-13: 978-1-935460-68-8
ISBN-10: 1-935460-92-7
Retail Price: $13.95 USD
Distributors: Ingram, Bertram Books, Gardners Books

eBook (ePub, Kindle, PDF)
ISBN-13: 978-1-935460-69-5
ISBN-10: 1-935460-69-2
Retail Price: $5.95 USD
Distributors: Content Reserve/Overdrive, Ingram

About Barking Rain Press
Barking Rain Press is an imprint of the BRP Publishing Group (BRP), which is a non-profit publisher located in the greater Portland/Vancouver metropolitan area—a thriving hub for independent publishers, writers, and literary venues. BRP currently operates three imprints, including Barking Rain Press, Virtual Tales, and Nitis Books. Find out more about the BRP Publishing Group at their website,
Barking Rain Press
Sheri Gormley