Crawling Spider: the Songs of Mike Montgomery and Paul Kossoff

A salute to the talents of singer-keyboardist Michael John Montgomery, and special tribute to Paul Kossoff. Son of Back Street Crawler songwriter and keyboardist sets to raise US$ 35,000 through crowdfunding platform Indiegogo for all-star tribute album "Crawling Spider: The songs of Mike Montgomery."

Ojai, CA, March 28, 2015 --( Marlon Montgomery announced today that he will be launching a funding campaign using the crowdfunding platform effective March 19, 2015 (anniversary of Paul Kossoff’s death). Montgomery is targeting to raise US$ 35,000 to record, press, distribute, and market the all-star tribute album ‘Crawling Spider: The songs of Mike Montgomery’.

Almost 25 years after his death and 40 years after Back Street Crawler’s ‘The Band Played On’, Mike Montgomery’s songs continue to capture the ears of loyal fans and new listeners.

According to ‘1975's cleverly-titled ‘Back Street Crawler’ may have been intended to showcase Kossoff, but the surprise star was keyboardist Montgomery who wrote, or co-wrote eight of the ten tunes and handled lead vocals on 'All the Girls Are Crazy' and 'Survivor'.

Montgomery plans to announce the producers and guest artists throughout the duration of the campaign stating "We have commitments from an incredible group of musical talent including multiple Grammy winning producers and artists. Artists paying tribute will include former band mates, close friends, and those inspired and influenced by my Dad. I can’t wait to share some of the surprises that I am certain will excite the fans."

In addition to new takes on songs from the Back Street Crawler album, Montgomery plans to include songs from various chapters in his father’s musical career, including the band Bloontz (the seed for Back Street Crawler) and Mike’s unreleased solo album recorded in London after he departed Back Street Crawler. Mike Montgomery’s music lives on, and it is a fitting honor that his legacy be saluted and carried forward into the 21st century.

Montgomery states “This project has been a dream for many years, and is a labor of love that can not be supported by a record label; the dream can only be realized if it’s going to be funded by appreciators of the great music and songs.”

The Indiegogo fundraising effort began on March 19th and ends on May 1st, 2015. The campaign site is located at:

The project features several rewards for investors at all levels. One-of-a-kind collectibles, content exclusives, and premiums for backers of the album include:

· Backer-only “making-of-the-album” video updates
· Exclusive CD version of the album
· Limited-edition T-shirts
· Listing in the album liner notes
· Exclusive maquettes of Paul Kossoff
· Invite to friends & family release party in Ojai
· Advance digital download of the new album before release
· And more to be announced

The project can be followed at:

Crowdfunding enables people with a great idea to ask the general public for the funding they require. The business sets a target for the money it wants to raise and explains how it will use the cash. People can then make pledges for small amounts of money in return for a reward if the target is reached. -

About Mike Montgomery

Mike Montgomery
Keyboards, vocals
Born Guthrie, Oklahoma USA

Has recorded with with Johnny Nash, David Bowie, Blood Sweat & Tears. Moved to London from New York to form Back Street Crawler with Paul Kossoff in 1975. Left Crawler in 1976 and recorded this album with his friends. Past away from lung cancer in 1991.


To learn more about this record and/or campaign, please contact
Marlon Montgomery
Crawling Spider / MJM Productions
Marlon Montgomery