Business Directory, Press Releases, Jobs, Products, Services, Articles
Businesses Articles Press Releases Follow @PRcom
Press Release Pricing | News by Category | News by Country | News by US Region | Recent News | News on Your Site

Press Releases

Wisconsin Chapter, American Academy...

Press Release

Receive press releases from Wisconsin Chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics: By Email RSS Feeds:

Pediatrician of the Year, Legislator of the Year Recognized by the Wisconsin Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics (WIAAP)

The Wisconsin Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics recently awarded two child health advocates with its highest honors. Ann Behrmann, MD, FAAP was recognized as WIAAP's Pediatrician of the Year, and Rep. Joan Ballweg was named Legislator of the Year.

Kimberly, WI, April 28, 2016 --( Ann Behrmann, MD, FAAP and Rep. Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan) have been recognized for their advocacy on behalf of Wisconsin’s children. The Wisconsin Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics ( presented the awards on April 21, 2016 at its annual meeting.

Dr. Behrmann practices at Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin, is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Pediatrics for the UW-Madison School of Medicine and Public Health and Adjunct Faculty for the Center for South Asia. She has worked for care improvement on behalf of medically complex children and mentors residents, nurse practitioners and medical students. She is an active member on the Section on International Child Health and the Council on Environmental Health at the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP). Mala Mathur, Vice President of WIAAP, said, “Ann has touched the lives of many learners, pediatricians and countless families in Wisconsin.”

WIAAP praised Rep. Ballweg’s understanding and advocacy of early brain development, mental health and trauma informed care. The Chapter also spotlighted her work in the formation of a bipartisan, innovative “Children’s Caucus” to bring together legislative partners working to promote child-health informed policy. “Rep. Ballweg’s thoughtful support and action around Wisconsin’s children paves the way for a broader understanding of important issues,” said Jeffrey Britton, MD, FAAP, WIAAP President.

Other member pediatricians recognized for AAP Special Achievement Awards included James Conway, MD, FAAP; Sharon Fleischfresser, MD, FAAP; Murray Katcher, MD, PhD, FAAP and Ellen Schumann, MD, FAAP.

Comprising nearly 1,000 members and a part of the American Academy of Pediatrics ( WIAAP works to assure optimal health and safety for Wisconsin’s children and their families through advocacy and collaboration with child interest groups. WIAAP supports Wisconsin pediatricians, enabling them to continue to be the most effective providers of health care to children. The American Academy of Pediatrics is committed to the attainment of optimal physical, mental and social health and well-being for all infants, children, adolescents and young adults.
Contact Information
Wisconsin Chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics
Kia LaBracke
563 Carter Court, Suite B
Kimberly, WI 54136

Click here to view the list of recent Press Releases from Wisconsin Chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics
Promote Your Business