Business Directory, Press Releases, Jobs, Products, Services, Articles
Businesses Articles Press Releases Follow @PRcom
Press Release Pricing | News by Category | News by Country | News by US Region | Recent News | News on Your Site
Colorado BioScience Association

Company Overview

Contact Info & Offices

Press Releases

Press Kits

Colorado BioScience Association

Press Release

Receive press releases from Colorado BioScience Association: By Email RSS Feeds:

Colorado BioScience Association Announces Nine New Board Members

Nine new board members have been elected to the Colorado BioScience Association (CBSA) 40-member Board of Directors. In related action, seven existing members were elected to reappointments on the CBSA board this year. CBSA, with more than 400 members, is a not-for-profit corporation providing services and support for Colorado's growing biosciences industry.

Denver, CO, May 04, 2008 --( Nine new board members have been elected to the Colorado BioScience Association (CBSA) 40-member Board of Directors. The announcement is made by Chris Shapard, CBSA Deputy Director, who says the election occurred at the Association’s recent 2008 All-Member Meeting.

New CBSA board members include: Jim Chrisman, Senior Vice President, Forest City -- -- Aurora; John Dunning, President and CEO, Clarimedix -- Boulder; Leslie Leinwand, Director, Colorado Initiative in Molecular Biotechnology and Professor, MCD Biology Department, University of Colorado -- -- Boulder; Terry Opgenorth, Chief Operating Officer, MicroRx and NeoTREX, Colorado State University Research Foundation -- – Fort Collins; John Poate, Vice President for Research and Technology Transfer, Colorado School of Mines - -- Golden; Rae Reynolds, President, Kaleidoscope Group -- Denver; Jim Skrine, Executive Director of Quality, Amgen -- -- Longmont; Rulon Stacey, President and CEO, Poudre Valley Health System -- – Fort Collins; and Dan Stinchcomb, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder, Inviragen -- – Fort Collins.

More information about the new board members:

* Jim Chrisman is the Senior Vice President for Forest City, the development company working in partnership with the Fitzsimons Redevelopment Authority to create a nationally and internationally renown life science park. Chrisman is the principal in charge of the Fitzsimons project on behalf of Forest City.

* John Dunning is President and CEO of CLARIMEDIX INC, a therapeutic medical device company based in Boulder, CO. Dunning brings a diverse background with significant start-up experience and an understanding of the financing and management processes associated with equity-backed companies.

* Dr. Leslie Leinwand is a Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology (MCDB) Professor and Director of the Colorado Initiative in Molecular Biotechnology. She has been at the University of Colorado since 1995. She was recruited here to be Chair of MCDB. She received her Bachelor’s degree from Cornell University, her PhD from Yale University and did post-doctoral training at Rockefeller University.

* Terry Opgenorth serves as COO for MicroRx and NeoTREX, the enterprise arms of Colorado State University’s Infectious Disease and Cancer Superclusters. He joined CSU Ventures, Inc. in 2007 after 20 years with Abbott Laboratories, North Chicago, IL.

* John Poate is Vice President of Research and Technology Transfer, Colorado School of Mines; a position he assumed in January 2006. Prior to assuming his present position, he was Chief Technology Officer and Vice President of Axcelis Technologies; a position he assumed in June, 2000.

* Rae Reynolds, President of Kaleidoscope Group, has 30 years of experience in marketing and business development in the biotech industry. Reynolds served as the Vice President of Marketing for Cochlear Corporation to launch, and promote a market leading product line, build the market, and complete a successful IPO.

* Jim Skrine, Executive Director of Quality, oversees the Quality Assurance, Product Quality, Quality Control, Validation and Compliance Groups for Amgen Colorado. Immediately prior to his current post, Skrine served as Director of Manufacturing and Plant Manager for Amgen Commercial Bulk Manufacturing.

* Rulon Stacey, Ph.D., was appointed as the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Poudre Valley Health System in Fort Collins in 1996. During his stay in Fort Collins Dr. Stacey has become nationally recognized for his innovative approach to working with physicians to better provide healthcare in a seamless environment.

* Dan Stinchcomb is Chief Executive Officer and co-founder of Inviragen, a biotechnology company focused on developing life-saving vaccines for emerging infectious diseases worldwide. Since initiating operations for Inviragen in January, 2005, Dr. Stinchcomb successfully raised over $5.2 million in grant and seed investor funding.

In related action, seven existing board members were elected to reappointments on the CBSA board. These include: Sean Moriarty, QLT-USA; Jack Wheeler, MicroPhage; Rick Jory, Sandhill Scientific; John Eckstein, Fairfield & Woods; Maggie Holben, Absolutely Public Relations; Tom Roach, Ernst & Young; and Lynn Taussig, University of Denver.

About Colorado BioScience Association (CBSA)

CBSA is a not-for-profit corporation providing services and support for Colorado's growing biosciences industry. With more than 400 members, CBSA actively works to promote the growth of the industry by working for a better business environment, grow the state's biotech workforce, fight for policies that support a strong bioscience industry in the state and speak with a single voice on behalf of the industry. Visit



Christine Shapard, Deputy Director, Colorado BioScience Association, 303-592-4089,

Maggie Chamberlin Holben, APR, Absolutely PR on behalf of Colorado BioScience Association, 303-984-9801,
Contact Information
Colorado BioScience Association
Maggie Holben

Click here to view the company profile of Colorado BioScience Association
Click here to view the list of recent Press Releases from Colorado BioScience Association
Promote Your Business