Memphis, TN, April 19, 2012 --(PR.com
)-- Harsher consequences for Tennessee motorists who are involved in serious accidents but lack proof of a policy and their driver’s license at the time of the crash were recently approved by the state’s governor, highlighting the weight law enforcement puts on having proper driving and financial responsibility documentation at all times, according to Online Auto Insurance.
Under HB 2466, signed by Gov. Bill Haslam on April 16, serious accidents are defined as those resulting in death or “serious bodily injury.”
The news may provide just a little more incentive for uninsured drivers to generate a cheap online insurance quote
and get covered by a policy. Carrying proof of a policy is important; not carrying it along with not having a valid license can get a driver arrested if he or she is involved in a severe collision.
The state has grappled with a stubbornly high rate of uninsured drivers that ranks third of all states in the U.S, according to estimates from the Insurance Research Council that show almost 1 out of every 4 drivers lacked a policy in 2009. The rate was higher than in 2007, when 1 out of every 5 motorists in Tennessee drove without coverage.
Fines and penalties vary from state to state for not having proof a policy, regardless of if you are involved in a serious crash, but it is illegal almost everywhere. In Tennessee, first-time offenders can be fined up to $100 and have their licenses suspended for failing to provide proof of coverage.
HB 2466 was named the Ricky Otts Act after a 59-year-old Tennessee motorcyclist who was killed in a 2010 crash when a man lacking proof of his policy and license collided with him. Police issued only a misdemeanor-level citation to that driver for driving without sufficient documentation.
For more on this and related issues, head to http://www.onlineautoinsurance.com/cheap/
for access to an easy-to-use quote-comparison generator and informative resources pages.