Program Launched to Help Boost Tourism Revenue in North Carolina’s Northeastern Counties

Northeast Commission Plans “Hub and Spoke” Routes to Attract Visitors to Northeastern North Carolina.

Edenton, NC, August 09, 2007 --( North Carolina’s Northeast Commission announced today the launch of a new long-term marketing initiative targeting the group tour industry. Four cities within the area have been designated as hubs for attracting motor coach operators, travel writers and tourism planners to see and experience the region.

“Roanoke Rapids, Washington, Elizabeth City and Manteo are the cities which have a strategic location and inventory of hotels from which we can launch travelers for day trips to the historic sites, nature trails, recreation and entertainment areas within an hour’s drive,” commented Elsie Pugh, Northeast Commission board member.

The NorthEast Tourism group (NET) chaired by Nancy Nicholls, will be working for several months to fully develop and promote the “Hub and Spoke Concept.” “NET is currently working on proposed itineraries and planning familiarization tours for motor coach and group tour operators. New marketing and promotional materials will be developed in the upcoming months” said Ms Nicholls. “This will be a major collaborative initiative between existing and new tourism partners.”

“We operate in a large and diverse 16 county region. Assembling easy-to-travel outreaching itineraries will be a great asset to communities throughout the region,” according to Gene Rogers, chairman of North Carolina’s Northeast Commission. “Tourism is an important component of the Northeast economy and this initiative will help grow this economic sector.”

The Northeast Region’s goal is to increase motor coach bookings, tourism revenues, occupancy taxes, job creation, and visitation to the region,” said Nancy Bailey Muller, Regional Tourism Officer for North Carolina’s Northeast.

North Carolina’s Northeast Commission is dedicated to increasing the standard of living for citizens in its sixteen-county region through tourism, industrial, and business development. The 16 counties that comprise the regional Commission are: Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, and Washington. For more information about the Northeastern North Carolina Regional Economic Development Commission, contact us at and

Northeast Development Commission
Vann Rogerson