Tourism Group Partnering with AAA to Attract Visitors to North Carolina

NorthEast Tourism Members Blitz Travel Offices

Edenton, NC, August 17, 2007 --( During August, members of the NorthEast Tourism (NET) group will call on offices of the American Automobile Association (AAA) to deliver maps, travel guides and information about sites in the 16 counties covered by the North Carolina’s Northeast Commission.

From Richmond, to Chesapeake travel planners in AAA offices have accepted appointments for Wednesday, August 15th with members of NET. Nancy Nicholls, NET chairwoman said, “Travelers from the Virginia area want to know the easiest routes to our historic sites, garden spots, beaches and many other destinations.

“The newer attractions such as Carolina Crossroads and the Randy Parton Theatre in Roanoke Rapids along with the Museum of the Albemarle in Elizabeth City will be brought to the attention of the planners so they can direct visitors to these sites,” according to Russ Haddad, vice-chairman of NET.

These personal, one-on-one visits, where questions will be answered about hotel inventory and restaurant locations will also assist planners as they direct visitors to our many tourism destinations giving each of them more of a package approach.

“North Carolina’s Northeast Region is unique and we want to welcome guests and increase the number of travelers who decide to spend their leisure time in our region,” said Vann Rogerson, President of North Carolina’s Northeast Commission.

AAA is a not-for-profit organization of motor clubs serving more than 50 million members in the United States and Canada. “Vacationers from all over the country add to the economic impact of North Carolina’s Northeast when they decide to bring their family for a week or just a weekend,” Rogerson added.

North Carolina’s Northeast Commission is dedicated to increasing the standard of living for citizens in its sixteen-county region through tourism, industrial, and business development. The 16 counties that comprise the regional Commission are: Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, and Washington. For more information about the Northeastern North Carolina Regional Economic Development Commission, contact them at and

Northeast Development Commission
Vann Rogerson