Nine West Virginia College Presidents Sign NACCE's Entrepreneurship Pledge

All nine West Virginia community and technical colleges celebrated Higher Ed Day on January 28 by signing the Presidents for Entrepreneurship Pledge (PFEP) of the National Association for Community College Entrepreneurship (NACCE). They signed the pledge during ceremonies at the state capitol.

Springfield, MA, January 28, 2019 --( West Virginia CTC Presidents sign Entrepreneurial Pledge during Higher Ed Day.

The West Virginia Community and Technical College System and the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission observed Higher Education Day at the Legislature today at the state capitol. The celebratory day culminated with nine presidents of the state’s community and technical (CTC) colleges signing the Presidents for Entrepreneurship Pledge(PFEP) of the National Association for Community College Entrepreneurship (NACCE).

Presidents who sign the pledge commit their colleges to undertake entrepreneurial practices that boost economic vitality in their communities. NACCE is the nation’s leading organization focused on promoting entrepreneurship through community colleges, and the PFEPis one of its foremost tools.

Chancellor for West Virginia Community and Technical Education Sarah Tucker, Ph.D. presided over the pledge signing, along with Chief of Staff Mike Hall from Gov. Jim Justice’s office, NACCE President and CEO Rebecca Corbin, representatives of the House and Senate, and CTC presidents and students. This is the first time community college presidents have signed the pledge at a state capitol.

“West Virginia’s community and technical colleges have demonstrated a game-changing commitment to encouraging and developing entrepreneurial thinking across our campuses,” said Chancellor Tucker. “Just last year, we became the first college system in the nation to join with the Entrepreneurial Learning Initiative to make entrepreneurism a core part of the community college experience in our state. Today, our presidents have signaled yet again their dedication to this important mission by signing the NACCE pledge, through which we will see even greater focus on educating West Virginia’s future entrepreneurs.”

Through NACCE’s Presidents for Entrepreneurship Pledge, community college presidents commit to five action steps that advance entrepreneurship in their communities and support local start-ups and small businesses. The five action steps are:

· Form teams to focus on entrepreneurship
· Connect with entrepreneurs in the community
. Collaborate with industry in your region
. Focus on business and job creation
. Share stories through events and the media

“Presidents signing the pledge represent community colleges serving more than a million students across the country,” said Rebecca Corbin of NACCE. “Through this important tool, college leaders learn how to meet challenges and explore untapped opportunity.”

The West Virginia college presidents signing NACCE’s Presidents for Entrepreneurship Pledge include:

*Peter Checkovich, Blue Ridge CTC (*Chancellor Tucker signed on his behalf)
Eunice Bellinger, Bridge Valley CTC
Charles Terrell, Eastern WVCTC
Keith Cotroneo, Mountwest CTC
Bonnie Copenhaver, New River CTC
John Moore, Pierpont CTC
Robert Gunter, Southern WVCTC
Michael Koon (interim), West Virginia Northern CTC
Chris Gilmer, WVU at Parkersburg CTC

NACCE is an organization of educators, administrators, presidents and entrepreneurs focused on igniting entrepreneurship in their community and on their campus. NACCE has two main goals: to empower the college to approach the business of running a community college with an entrepreneurial mindset; and to grow the community college’s role in supporting job creation and entrepreneurs in their local ecosystem. The association represents 300+ community and technical colleges and 2,000 faculty, staff, administrators and presidents who serve more than 3.3 million students. Visit:

Contact: Rebecca Corbin
National Association for Community College Entrepreneurship
Carol Savage