RP Books & Audio - Reagent Press
RP Books & Audio - Reagent Press

Explore the Fantasy Worlds of Ruin Mist in New Comic Book by Robert Stanek, Published by Reagent Press

A decade before the events of the bestselling author Robert Stanek's epic Ruin Mist, Kingdoms and Dragons books, a princess named Delinna Alder touches one of the Four Orbs crafted by Dnyarr, the last great Elf King of Greye, and is transformed forever. But Princess Delinna Alder has much to learn about the lethal price of being both within time and outside its bounds.

Explore the Fantasy Worlds of Ruin Mist in New Comic Book by Robert Stanek, Published by Reagent Press
Seattle, WA, October 21, 2010 --(PR.com)-- Delinna Alder's life is about to change forever, for the Watcher has returned and he's brought with him one of the Orbs of Power. He's hunted across worlds for the orb, and she's longed for his return so that she can finally have answers to questions long ago asked. Those answers lead her into an exile from which there is no return.

Rebirth (Ruin Mist: A Daughter of Kings), published by Reagent Press, is the third of four comics that tell Delinna's never before told story and threaded through the comics are the tragic romances that will eventually tear nations apart and destroy worlds. Read Betrayal (A Daughter of Kings, Comic #1), Deliverance (A Daughter of Kings, Comic #2), Rebirth (A Daughter of Kings, Comic #3) and then Discord (A Daughter of Kings, Comic #4).

When Robert Stanek first began writing about Ruin Mist in 1986, he knew he wanted to explore this fascinating universe in both words and pictures. This desire is one reason his "The Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches" books have so many illustrations. The special illustrated editions of "Keeper Martin's Tale" and "Kingdom Alliance" took this marriage of words and pictures even further as those books have over 60 full-page illustrations, including a segment in "Kingdom Alliance" where a key battle scene is told visually through a sequence of full-page illustrations.

In 2007, Robert Stanek decided to explore the world visually even further and started work on the Ruin Mist comics and graphic novels. Comics and graphic novels are developed in stages. For his comics and graphic novels, he followed a six-part process beginning with imagining.

Imagining is where the writer dreams up the story and develops it page-by-page on a storyboard. At this stage, Robert was the designer, developer, and director as well as creator. He broke down each page into a series of panels, describe how each panel should look, where each panel should be positioned, and what each panel should contain. This is a long process as a single page can take several pages to describe. Revision, development, and editing are of course part of the imagining process.

Next came penciling. Penciling is where an artist takes the writer's vision and makes it reality, working through each panel of each page and sending proofs to the writer for approval. There's a lot of back and forth in this process. Once the pencil panels and pages are finalized, the pencil art is passed on to an inker who renders the final lines of each panel and page so it can be colored. After a page is inked and colored, the writer works to finalize the story. The final story is edited before it is lettered.

Lettering is the process of entering and positioning the dialogue, story text, and other text elements onto each panel of each page. It's a long process, but the result is something unique: a printed story that is told visually as much as with words. And that's how Robert Stanek's comics and graphic novels are born.

Robert Stanek is the author of over 100 books. His epic series Ruin Mist Chronicles includes Keeper Martin's Tale, Kingdom Alliance, Fields of Honor, and Mark of the Dragon and was also released for young adults as The Kingdoms and the Elves of the Reaches #1 - #4 and In the Service of Dragons #1 - #4. He is also well-known for his Bugville Critters children's picture book series. His books have been bestsellers on Amazon.com, Barnesandnoble.com, Audible.com, and Apple iTunes. For more information, visit dragons.reagentpress.com and www.reagentpress.com.

Rebirth (Ruin Mist: A Daughter of Kings, Comic #3)
Robert Stanek
RP Books & Audio
ISBN: 9781575458861 $6.75
Full-color, deluxe-size, perfect-bound comic of approximately 5,000 words.

Available at Ingram, Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble and elsewhere.

RP Books & Audio was founded in 1994 as Virtual Press. Our products fall into four major categories: children's fiction, teen fiction, adult fiction and nonfiction. Our imprints include Reagent Press, Reagent Press Books for Young Readers, RP Audio, RP Audio Kids, and Classroom-To-Go. www.reagentpress.com

RP Books & Audio - Reagent Press
Jeannie Kim
Rebirth (A Daughter of Kings, Comic #3, Free Preview)

Rebirth (A Daughter of Kings, Comic #3, Free Preview)

A free preview of Rebirth (A Daughter of Kings, Comic #3)