First National Geomatics Prize & Gold Medal Awarded in Nigeria

First National Geomatics Prize & Gold Medal Awarded in Nigeria
Abuja, Nigeria, December 15, 2010 --( The GeoQinetiq Geomatics Gold Medal & Prize was held successfully at the Ladi Kwali Conference Centre, Sheraton Hotel & Towers, Abuja - Nigeria on the 25th November 2010. The occasion was held under the theme “Geomatics and the Opportunities it presents for our Nation’s Development” and was graced by the august presence of the Chairman of the Occasion ‐ Hon. Justice S.M.A Belgore GCON – Retired Chief Justice of the Federation. The Special Guest of Honour was Alhaji Mahmud Yayale Ahmed CFR – Secretary to the Government of the Federation, who was very ably represented by the Senior Special Assistant to the Secretary to the Government of the Federation – Dr. Shettima Abba.

Two Guest Speakers presented papers at the event, namely: Dr. Seidu Oneilo Mohammed – Director‐General, National Space Research and Development Agency (NASRDA) and Dr. Chukwudozie Ezibalike – Data Management Coordinator, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA), Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Geoqinetiq Geomatics Gold Medal & Prize award ceremony represented the first time an event celebrating students in the technical sciences has been attended by top officials of the Federal Government of Nigeria, representatives from academia from all over Nigeria, as well as the cream of the Geomatics professionals in the Country. Amongst the eminent personalities and special guests who attended the event were: Hon. Permanent Secretary, Office of the Head of Service of the Federation ‐ Professor Nicholas Agiobi Damachi FAS, OON; The Hon. Surveyor‐General of the Federation ‐ Surv. Austin Pius Njepuome (fnis); Chairman of the Surveyors’ Council of Nigeria (SURCON) ‐ Surv. Clement Nwabichie (fnis); Special Adviser to the Governor of Lagos State on Digital Mapping – Surv. M.A. Durowoju; Immediate Past Executive Secretary, National Board for Technical Education – Engr. Dr. Nuru Yakubu OON; President, Nigerian Institution of Surveyors (NIS) ‐ Surv. (Chief) Yakubu Maikano (fnis) ably represented by the Deputy President, Nigerian Institution of Surveyors (NIS) ‐ Surv. Bode Adeaga (fnis); Honourable Member, Presidential Committee on Land Reform ‐ Surv. Mohammed N. Yahaya (fnis); Member, Expert Panel of Judges – Prof. C.U. Ezeigbo; Member, Expert Panel of Judges – Prof. P.C. Nwilo; Immediate Past President, Nigerian Institution of Surveyors (NIS) ‐ Surv. (Dr.) Olusola Atilola (fnis); Barrister Tony Odiadi – GeoQinetiq Senior Legal Counsel & Member, Vision 20:2020 Committee of the Federal Republic; Member, Expert Panel of Judges ‐ Professor Francis Afolabi Fajemirokun (fnis) was unavoidable absent on other academic duties in the United States of America, but contributed immensely from there to the success of the Award.

GeoQinetiq Geomatics Gold Medal & Prize Award 2010 Winners

Obarafo Emmanuel: 1st Prize winner, Gold Medal & N300,000 ($2,000) cash
School: Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

Department: Geomatics Engineering.
Project Title: Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM) Elevation Data; A Contemporary Global Elevation Method. How well does it describe the topography in Zaria and its Environs?

Maikudi Zakari: 2nd Prize winner, N100,000 ($670) cash
School: College of Environmental Studies, Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna.
Department: Topographical Science.
Project Title: Remote sensing and GIS techniques for monitoring land use and land cover changes in Kaduna metropolis.

Ajoke Fatima: 3rd Prize winner & N75,000 ($500) cash
School: Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.
Department: Geomatics Engineering.
Project Titile: Determination of Optimum duration of GPS measurement.

About The Prize
In November 2009, GeoQinetiq invited students in higher education institutions across the country to participate in the GeoQinetiq Geomatics Prize 2010 for the most outstanding projects in Geomatics for the preceding year (1st October 2009 to 30th September 2010). A lot of effort was spent in the quest to convince students and other stakeholders that the Prize was definitely going to be awarded, and that it was worth their while spending all the weeks and months of difficult exertions to plan, execute, document and present their various interesting, intriguing, innovative and industrious projects.

The main purpose of establishing this prize is to promote, stimulate and sustain interest in deeper understanding of the theories and practice of Geomatics in institutions of higher learning in the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as well as build awareness of the role of Geomatics in national development among the general public. Even more important is the expectation that the prestige of the GeoQinetiq Geomatics Gold Medal and Prize will, over the comings years, draw even more talented students into the field which will in turn lead to an appreciable improvement in the standards of the practice of the sciences of Geomatics. Furthermore, the GeoQinetiq Geomatics Gold Medal and Prize will expand and deepen the understanding of senior decision-makers, both in Government and Industry, of the potential of Geomatics techniques and their application to national development.

This year marks the first award of the GeoQinetiq Geomatics Gold Medal and Prize, but already, the GeoQinetiq Board has taken delivery of ten Gold Medals from the Mint to ensure that students and the Nigerian public are not in any doubt about the longevity and sustainability of the prize for the future. In the coming years, the Prize will no doubt attract additional sponsors from within and outside Nigeria in order to increase the value of the award to include Geomatics equipment as well as opportunities for further study at the best Universities and Polytechnics around the world.

The GeoQinetiq Board also believes that this contribution to Nigeria’s technological development could be a template for other prizes for other fields in the technical sciences and hopes that the GeoQinetiq Geomatics Gold Medal and Prize will remain not just a pioneering conferment, but also an enduring Award, which will define and quicken the pace of the indigenous industrial development of Nigeria. The Board is confident that this drive to educate decision and policy makers on the role of Geomatics in Nigeria’s development will continue to gain momentum and translate to wider opportunities for the profession within Nigeria.

Expert Panel of Judges

-Prof. Christian Ezeigbo, B.Sc. (Nigeria); M.Sc., PhD (Lagos) – Chairman, Nigerian Association of Geodesy

-Prof. Francis Fajemirokun, B.Sc., M.Sc. (Nigeria); PhD (Ohio) – President, Nigerian Union of Planetary and Radio Sciences

-Prof. Peter Nwilo B.Sc., M.Sc. (Lagos); PhD (Salford) – Associate Professor, Dept of Geoinformatics, University of Lagos

-Surveyor Mohammed N. Yahaya – Member, Presidential Technical Committee on Land Reforms, Pioneer Registrar, Surveyors Council of Nigeria, emeritus Surveyor General of the Federation

-Juliet Ezechie – Managing Director, GeoQinetiq Limited

GeoQinetiq Limited
Jerome Okolo
+234 9 8700127-9 ext 111
Nigerian National Geomatics Awards

Nigerian National Geomatics Awards

Collage of photos from the Nigerian National Geomatics Awards