IEEE Communications Society Honors 2011 Career and Service Award Winners at IEEE GLOBECOM 2011

Thousands of Telecom Industry Experts Join in Ceremonies at Internet Communications Event held 5 – 9 December 2011 in Houston, Texas.

Houston, TX, December 08, 2011 --( The IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc), the leading worldwide professional organization dedicated to the advancement of communications technologies, honored this year’s career and service award winners during the first official day of IEEE GLOBECOM 2011 held December 5 – 9 at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston, Texas. Themed “Energizing Global Communications,” IEEE GLOBECOM 2011 is currently hosting the presentation of more than 1,500 workshops, tutorials, business panels, keynotes and technical papers highlighting the latest advances in broadband, wireless, multimedia, data, image and voice communications.

“Recognizing the outstanding contributions of our colleagues is one of the most important things we do as a technical society,” says H. Vincent Poor, Master of Ceremonies and Awards Committee Chair. “It is our honor to acknowledge the accomplishments of the individuals, who have had a tremendous impact on our Society and the global advancement of communications technologies.”

During ceremonies held during the conference’s annual banquet luncheon on Tuesday, December 6, IEEE ComSoc presented its annual honors to:

-Sasi Pilacheri Meethal, who received the IEEE Communications Society Award for Public Service in the Field of Telecommunications for “sustained contributions to low cost communications solutions for the masses and humanitarian needs”
-Lawrence Bernstein, who was presented the IEEE Communications Society Industrial Innovation Award for “innovations in software engineering and project management in support of supplying telephone service to the public”
-Stefano Galli, who received the IEEE Communications Society Donald W. McLellan Meritorious Service Award for contributions strengthening the Communications Society's strategic position in power line communications and smart grid communications”
-Khaled Ben Letaief, who earned the IEEE Communications Society Harold Sobol Award for Exemplary Service to Meetings & Conferences for “an exemplary and sustained record of service to the Communications Society's conferences”
-Vijay Bhargava, who was presented the IEEE Communications Society Joseph LoCicero Award for Exemplary Service to Publications and “contributions to the journals of the Communications Society, fostering new publications and improving effectiveness of the processes of existing ones”
-J. Roberto B. de Marca, who was handed the IEEE ComSoc/KICS Exemplary Global Service Award for “contributions to building the Communications Society's global membership, activities, and prestige”
-Moe Z. Win, who was recognized with the 2011 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award “for fundamental contributions to high speed reliable communications over optical and wireless channels”
-Bruce Worthman, who received the Board of Governor’s Award for “Distinguished Staff Services”
-IEEE ComSoc Regional Chapters representing the Asia/Pacific, EMEA, Latin America and North America, who were provided the Chapter Achievement Award “for achieving excellence in its Chapter operations and for furthering the objectives of the Society”
-IEEE Washington DC Chapter received the Chapter-of-the-Year Award “for achieving the highest excellence in Chapter activities and for outstanding contributions furthering the objectives of the Society.”
-Tolga Duman and Robert Heath, who received 2011 IEEE Fellow Recognition Honors

In addition, special attention during the luncheon was also paid to the recipients of the IEEE ICC 2011 Prize Paper Awards. Included among the distinguished awardees were:

-Watcharapan Suwansantisuk & Moe Z. Win, who received the Leonard G. Abraham Prize for their article titled “Frame Synchronization for Variable-Length Packets”
-Liping Qian, Angela Yingjun Zhang & Jianwei Huang, who were honored with the Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications for their entry titled “MAPEL: Achieving Global Optimality for a Non-Convex Wireless Power Control Problem”
-Maria Gorlatova, who earned the Outstanding Paper Award on New Communication Topics for her entry titled “Energy Harvesting Active Networked Tags (EnHANTS) for Ubiquitous Object Networking”
-Murali Kodialam, T.V. Lakshman & Sudipta Sengupta, who received the William R. Bennett Prize for the article named “Oblivious Routing of Highly Variable Traffic in Service Overlays & IP Backbones”

For more information on IEEE GLOBECOM 2011, please visit or contact Heather Ann Sweeney of the IEEE Communications Society at 212-705-8938 (

The IEEE Communications Society has over 40,000 members and is the second largest of IEEE’s 38 technical societies. Founded in 1952, it has become the major international forum for the exchange of ideas on communications and information networking.

IEEE Communications Society
William Chelak